Quiet Love

dannysusiewedding

The day may not have been as beautiful as yesterday. The sun was mostly hidden behind clouds, but the temperature was relatively mild. For an outdoor wedding in October, I think the day was just about perfect, because, so long as it didn’t rain, everyone was much more involved with the ceremony and the people at the centre of it.

The wedding was small and intimate and so very special. The groom has been a very good friend of mine since I was 17, which translates into 26 years of friendship! Danny has always been someone who has spoken into my life, encouraged and challenged me, and been there when I needed a friend. He’s part of the reason why I use “shruber” in my email address and as a user name for several things…it’s a long story! Our relationship has ebbed and flowed over the years, but I think we both know that the other is always there when needed.

My friendship with Susie is much more recent, although I have certainly been aware of her existence and Danny’s interest in her for a long time. The first time I met her was at the surprise birthday dinner that my husband threw for my 42nd birthday. That was such an awkward time to try to get to know someone. I think there were 10 of us for dinner that night, but the seating was not conducive for a lot of interaction. I felt bad for Susie, since she really didn’t know anyone but Danny, but I was so impressed that she would come to my party knowing that she would be the stranger! As I have gotten to know her over the past several months, I cannot help but love and embrace her as a friend. She is simply an amazing woman, strong and smart, beautiful inside and out. She complements Danny perfectly. She is exactly the person that Danny needs by his side, and I could not be happier to have witnessed their wedding today.

Leave a Reply

