Can’t Fight This Feeling

Ten days until competition! I’m feeling generally good. There are some random, little aches here and there, but they are so minor that I really don’t even want to mention them most of the time, except that Michael would give me a hard time if I didn’t. I’m just used to being the “tough” one, the sort of person who doesn’t complain too much about such things and simply pushes through the discomfort. However, I am learning the importance of being completely, or at least mostly, honest with my coach about how my body is feeling. It’s not like I can sneak much past him anyway. He knows me well enough now to pick up on the little indicators that something isn’t feeling right. Of course, he also knows me well enough to not always believe me when I tell him that everything feels fine! I guess I just don’t want to be crying wolf all the time, because there is a difference, I think, between real pain when something isn’t right and a bit of discomfort that might arise when you get tired or maybe slept in a funny position. I would definitely speak up if I was feeling real pain. The habit of silently pushing through the little discomforts is more difficult to break, but I’m trying. I can joke with Michael about knowing there is a problem when my arm falls off during a deadlift, but, in all seriousness, I want to continue to do this for a long time, so if I feel that something is most definitely not feeling right I will say so. I hope.

1a. deadlifts

I don’t always deadlift on a Wednesday morning, but my last heavy deadlift day was last Friday. Today wasn’t about going heavy, just lifting the bar and working on technique.

without belt:

95 x 5, 145 x 5 This set didn’t feel very good for my left shoulder. Yes, this was one of those times when Michael caught me. It kind of felt like my left arm was in danger of falling off with each rep, although I think the rest of my technique was okay. Stayed at the same weight for another set to figure it out. For some strange and unknown reason, I was kind of rolling my shoulders back as I locked out. Focused on not rolling the shoulders like that and said good-bye to the feeling of losing my arm. 145 x 3 + 1, 165 x 3, 185 x 2

with belt:

205 x 1, 205 x 1, 205 x 1

1b. bench press-close grip

43 x 8, 70 x 6, 85 x 5, 95 x 5, 105 x 5, 105 x 5

These were pretty smooth. It’s amazing how solid, smooth, and fast my bench can feel when I remember to put all the little pieces together properly! That is definitely my biggest struggle with the bench press. I’ll focus on gripping the bar tightly and forget to breathe. I’ll remember to breathe and forget to use my legs. At least with training reps, I know that I can have a bad rep and recover for the remaining reps, but competition isn’t about having the fifth rep be your best one! It seems to be a running joke between Michael and I that my second rep is always better than my first…for just about everything! This is probably a big factor in why I feel the least confident about the bench press in competition.

2a. inverted rows

x 6 without legs + 7 with legs, x 6 + 6, x 5 + 6

2b. dumbbell curls

15 lbs x 15, x 20

2c. back extensions with a rounded back and glute focus

x 15, x 20

Leave a Reply

