Pinch Me

For a Friday, today was rather a decent day. The only homicidal thoughts I entertained today were towards my husband, when I discovered that my lunch was missing from the refrigerator early this morning. It seems that he thought he would clean out the fridge (why I do not know!), couldn’t understand why there was a small container with some rice in it when there was a larger container with rice, figured it was old and tossed it. Don’t let the fact that I start work at an insanely early hour fool you into thinking that I am a morning person! I most definitely am not! I like silence when I wake up that early and eating my breakfast with the least amount of light possible, as if the quiet and the darkness can keep me in a quasi-sleep state. The best way to make me cranky in the early morning is to disturb that ‘not yet alive’ state, and that is what Kane did this morning. Not only did he throw away my lunch, but he woke up not too long after I did and insisted on talking to me. My husband has no volume control, and I do not want to talk until I have to. But, somehow I made it through the day without the usual frustration and anger levels, which was a nice change of pace.

I went to the gym a little early today, to have coffee with Michael and discuss the future. I’m casually looking ahead to next year, wondering where to place my focus in terms of competitions. Ultimately the decision is mine to make, but I wanted my coach’s perspective because…well, he’s my coach! I respect his experience and appreciate his wisdom. He’s been doing this a lot longer than I have, and I would be foolish to not take advantage of the insights that he can provide. Nothing is set in stone, but it is nice to know that my thoughts aren’t really much different from Michael’s.

Competition is 15 days away, and today was the last heavy deadlift day. The last few weeks of deadlifts haven’t exactly been bad, but they haven’t been great either. It’s just been little technique issues, but I think we made some good progress at nailing them down today.

1a. deadlifts

without belt: 115 x 6, 135 x 5, 165 x 3, 185 x 5

with belt: 205 x 4, 225 x 3, 245 x 2, 265 x 1

So, the main key was to lift my head up more at the start. It’s funny how such a simple change can make a big difference! The 265 pounds felt easier and better than the 260 pound single I did the last week.

1b. bench press-competition grip

43 x 8, 70 x 5, 85 x 4

2 or 3 board, I’m not really sure anymore:

85 x 3, 105 x 3…forgot to use my legs! Seriously, either I forget to breathe between reps or I forget to use my legs. So Michael had me do it again with good leg drive before we could increase the weight. Grrrr! 105 x 2…using my legs! 115 x 2, 125 x 1, 130 x 1

I know that doing presses to the boards isn’t quite the same as doing a full bench press, but this was the first time I’ve ever had 125 and 130 pounds in my hands for a press. Apparently I had a little wrist leakage for the 125 pound single. I think I kept my wrists tighter for the 130 pounds…

drop the weight to 105 for 3 regular reps

2a. block pulls with straps

225 x 3, 245 x 2, 265 x 1, 225 x 3

2b. power barbell rows with straps

95 x 10, 115 x 15, 115 x 15

2c. toes to bar

x 12 and that is a new PR! x 10

Okay, so it has been a long time since I last set a PR for ‘toes to bar’, but these felt good right from the very first rep. These tend to be at the end of my training sessions when my hands have been put through the wringer, which means my calluses are usually sore and my grip fails quickly. Grip was still an issue for these today, but I was able to hold tightly long enough to get some solid reps in. I don’t know what impresses me more, the new PR of 12 or the 10 reps I got in the second set! I never get that many reps on the following set, no matter how many I get in the first. Guess I was feeling really good today.

Maybe it was the singlet…’cause I wore my singlet today! Maybe there was more to the coffee Michael served me earlier. Maybe it was the extra carbs yesterday. Maybe I’m just strong today. Now I’m just tired and ready for bed.

Leave a Reply

