Some Nights

Mondays definitely take a toll on me. Mondays are usually good days, just long and busy. The alarm goes off at 3:15 AM. I work until 1:00 PM. Then I have until roughly 3:30 PM to putter around the house taking care of a thousand little details, like supper prep, laying out my work stuff for the next day, some housework, my trainer & chiropractor homework, drink coffee, eat carbs, prepping for my bedtime routine, and so on. I train from 4:00 to 5:00 PM, then rush home to scarf down my dinner and, hopefully, change out of my sweaty clothes, before I need to rush out the door once more by 6:20 PM. My Bible study group takes the rest of my evening until 9:00 PM, although sometimes we run a little late. I rush out the door as soon as I can, so that I can get home, maybe eat some more, blog about my training session, and get ready for bed. If I am lucky, I will be in bed by 10:00 PM, but luck is not often on my side. At my study, some of the women have said that I look quite good for having been up since 3 in the morning, but I’m still on my gym high at that point in time. I am fighting off yawns by 7:30 and wishing for my bed 8:00. Unfortunately, by the time I get home after 9:00, my night owl nature has broken free from the prison where I have locked it away for the sake of my work schedule, and I am not so eager to go to bed anymore. However, the alarm is always set for 3:45 on Tuesday morning.

I can function quite well on very little sleep, or at least I like to think that I can. My brain might be a little fuzzy. I am definitely tired and hate having to leave my bed, but I can genuinely smile at my customers and thrive through a hectic work day. By the time evening rolls around though, I am almost a zombie. After dinner yesterday, I had a hot bath while sipping on a glass of white wine. Following the bath, I had some popcorn and another glass of wine. I had hoped to stay up to watch Agents of Shield, but I had no choice but to ooze into bed by 8:30 PM. I slept very well and for 10.5 hours! In fact, I didn’t even have a cup of coffee before my training session this morning!

1a. chest-supported rows using kettle bells

10kg x 20, 12kg x 15, 12kg x 15, 12kg x 15, 12kg x 10

1b. close grip bench press

43 x 8, 70 x 6, 85 x 6, 95 x 6, 95 x 6, 95 x 6

1c. face pulls with orange band

4 sets of 25

Last week there was a lot of noise coming from my shoulders during the face pulls. I think there was a click or two on the very first couple of reps, but then the noise disappeared.

2a. low cable rows

50 lbs x 20, 50 lbs x 8 + 70 lbs x 8, 70 lbs x 15

2b. bottoms up KB presses + regular KB presses using an 8kg KB

x 8 + 4, x 8 + 3, x 8 + 3

These felt tougher than they probably should have. My right arm felt stronger with the bottoms up presses, but getting through those extra regular KB presses after was a struggle. The left arm struggled more with the bottoms up presses but had more strength with the regular ones.

2c. rear laterals on an incline bench using 5 lb dumbbells

x 20, x 20, x 13 with an overhand type hand position + 7 normal hand position

Remember how I hate rear laterals? Well, I didn’t actually mind these today at all! In fact, they felt really good, almost really easy until the last couple reps of each set. Usually Michael has to correct my form or something at least once or twice, but he said they looked good! Did I say that they felt good? How bizarre.

Leave a Reply

