Another One Bites the Dust

Here I am again, well past my bedtime, eyes bleary and contacts scratchy, caught in the crossfire of desperately needing every precious second of sleep that I am wasting and wanting to get my training session out of my head and training log into a blog post. It’s already four hours since I finished my training session, and I find my memory a little hazy. I’m looking at one thing in my log and wondering if I did two sets or three. Two sets were written down, but I want to say that I did three. I think I did, but maybe I’m just mixing that up with the pause squats. I don’t even know.

1a. squats-low bar

without belt: 45 x 8, 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 155 x 3

with belt: 175 x 5, 195 x 4, 215 x 1, 230 x 1 PR,

210 x 3 x 3 sets

I don’t know what clicked today, but I totally felt like I was pushing through the midsoles of my feet. Not sure that I normally feel it that way, but the squats felt solid and the bar path seemed to be fairly consistent and good. The 230 was rather easy. Last week’s miss was definitely a technical issue, and 230 pounds isn’t maximal.

I sent a text to Michael asking about the sets at 210 pounds, because that was where I had written down 2 sets but thought I had done 3. He said I did 3…I thought so!

1b. bench press-competition grip

43 x 8, 70 x 5, 85 x 5, 100 x 4, 110 x 3 (the second rep was ugly but the third was much better), 115 x 1, 120 x 1

105 x 3, 105 x 3, 110 x 3

I kept forgetting to use my legs, mostly on my first rep of each set. I actually got a little mad with myself between the first and second rep of the last set and told myself, out loud, to use my legs. The final two reps were the best!

Michael also had me really work at not only keeping my shoulders tucked but down as well. It isn’t necessarily the easiest or most comfortable position to get into, but there did seem to be some more stability in my shoulders and in my bar path.

2a. pause squats-high bar, no belt, 2 second pause

135 x 3, 155 x 3, 180 x 3

2b. toes to bar x 8, I think, x 4 or 5 plus another 4 or 5 hanging straight leg raises

Leave a Reply

