Bad Day

There is something about Fridays that make the day terrible, horrible, no good, and very bad. It’s my Monday, so maybe it is as simple as that, but I doubt it. I could fill many pages with my thoughts and feelings about today, but that really wouldn’t serve any purpose other than to let me rant. My emotions have been all over the place today. I’ve been happy, frustrated, seething, and fighting back tears. The anger has dissipated somewhat, but those tears are still threatening. It wouldn’t surprise me if they fall once I tuck myself into bed. Sometimes the dark is the best place to cry. I guess if Fridays are going to be rough days, then I guess it is a good thing that it is also deadlift day!

1a. deadlifts

without belt: 115 x 5, 135 x 3, 165 x 4, 185 x 5

with belt: 205 x 4, 230 x 3, 250 x 2, 260 x 1

230 x 2 x 2 sets

I’d say that these were better than last week, for the most part. I think my back position was better for most of the reps. I think. Michael might think differently, but I think he’d agree for at least the earlier sets. I feel good about my deadlifts today though, because I know that deadlifts tend to be easier in competition than they are in the gym. And really, I got to lift heavy things today and hear metal clang loudly as I finished each rep.

1b. bench press-competition grip:

43 x 8, 70 x 5, 90 x 3, 105 x 3, 105 x 3, 105 x 3

Bench was decent today.

2a. power barbell rows

85 x 12ish, 105 x 15, 105 x 15

2b. toes to bar x 10, x 3 or 4 my grip just wasn’t going to hold by this point

plank with single arm raises x some number of raises but I don’t know how many!

I came home from the gym, a little cranky because no one made dinner, and ranted about my day to my husband. I ate a lot of carbs and sipped a glass of wine. Soon it will be bedtime, and I really cannot wait for that moment. It would be better, perhaps, if I didn’t need to get up at 4:15 for work tomorrow, but I do. However, I have a girls’ night to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

