Big Girls Don’t Cry

When you’re grumpy and you know it, go to the gym! Seriously. End of story. Best advice. I was simmering for the entire drive to the gym, walked in the door and couldn’t stop a smile from erupting across my face.

My trainer has been talking to my chiropractor, which means that there are some specific things that I need to work on. Today that involved doing a few exercises without bracing my core the way that I usually would, and that isn’t necessarily an easy task. The exercises themselves weren’t tough or terribly taxing, but keeping my abs loose was a challenge.

1a. bird dogs: 2 sets of roughly 15…no bracing

1b. a variation of single leg glute bridges: 2 sets of roughly 15…no bracing

2a. close grip bench press

45 x 8, 70 x 6, 85 x 6, 95 x 6, 100 x 6, 100 x 6

These felt really good and smooth today. Bar positioning was good, and I think there was almost no bar drift from my right shoulder slipping. I think that my right shoulder tends to slip less often when I am wearing a tank top and slips more when I am wearing a t-shirt. Hmmm. But I have to wear a t-shirt for competitions…

2b. seated cable rows

40 x 15, 60 x 12, 60 x 15, 60 x 12, 60 x 12

2c. single arm face pulls with orange band

x 15 each side, x 15, x 12, x 15, x 12

There was some experimentation with these today, because there was an awful lot of clicking coming from the shoulders, particularly the right one. I woke up with soreness in my right shoulder and the right side of my neck yesterday, and although it is not nearly as bad today, that shoulder still doesn’t feel quite right. The first set or two was with a neutral grip, while the remaining sets were with a hammer grip. I also adjusted the width of my pull on the latter sets in an effort to open the shoulder more and, mostly, eliminate that click. It didn’t always work; my shoulders are feeling stubborn. The right shoulder still feels quite heavy and a little sore.

2d. pallof presses without bracing

x 10, x 12, x 12, x 12, x 12

3a. single arm kettle bell presses

8kg x 8 each side, x 8, x 8

I really probably could have used at least a 10kg kettle bell for these, but I didn’t want to push my shoulder too much.

3b. bat wings

two 10kg kettle bells x 5 reps with a 5 second pause x 3 sets

With the exception of having a shoulder that feels extremely fatigued and beaten up, that felt like a rather easy training session. Like I told Michael, I’m not complaining about that today! I have about two weeks of peaking left, deload week, and then competition. A day that feels a little easier is still working important muscles.

Leave a Reply

