Into the Groove

Twenty-six days until competition, and I’m feeling pretty good, aside from a bit of a cold. The headache is at least mostly gone now, but I had a heck of time sleeping last night due to all the coughing. The cough is only intermittent during the day, so hopefully tonight will be better.

1a. squats, low bar

without belt: 45 x 8, 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 160 x 5

with belt: 185 x 5, 205 x 3, 215 x 3 PR, 225 x 1 PR, 230 x 0

The 225 pound single felt really good, and I can’t believe how fast it was! I felt confident about the 230, but there just wasn’t anything smooth about it. I had to re-rack the bar, because it wasn’t sitting “right”. Then I hit the rack as I was stepping out. When I hit the rack, Michael jumped in to give me a spot, which isn’t something that usually throws me off (if anything it usually spurs me on to finish the lift); however, somehow I wound up pitching forward quite dramatically. It wasn’t very pretty, but that seems to be how I fail a squat in training. Literally. I am certain that every missed big gym squat has been the epitome of awkward and embarrassing. Oh well. Shake that one off, because I was super stoked about the 225…two plates! I know that I will nail the 230 next week.

205 x 3

1b. bench press, competition grip

43 x 8, 68 x 5, 83 x 5, 100 x 5, 105 x 5, 105 x 5, 110 x 3, 115 x 1, 120 x 1, 105 x 4

2a. pause squats, 2 second pause

without belt: 135 x 3, 160 x 3, 175 x 3

2b. dumbbell presses, neutral grip

25 lb dumbbells x 15, x 15

And 15 face pulls…because that upper back is very important!

Leave a Reply

