I Won’t Back Down

It has been a long time since I was in school, but I’m fairly certain that I didn’t particularly enjoy doing homework. I was a decent student, although I am sure that I managed to squander some potential along the way. While I cannot guarantee that I always did my homework 100% of the time, my personality is of the type that demands adherence to rules and expectations. I distinctly remember getting served with a detention by my grade 7 English teacher for not having my homework done one day. I had honestly thought that the homework was due on another day, but my mistake wasn’t acceptable and I had to stay after school for my first and only detention. (Do they even still have such a thing as detention?)

As an adult, I don’t expect to have homework, in the purest sense of the word. I certainly have housework, but that is hardly the same as homework! Even what little planning or paperwork that I do at home for my job is a far cry from being homework. But I do have homework from unlikely sources like my trainer and my chiropractor.

trainer

I suppose it isn’t too odd to have homework given to me by my trainer. Although most of my training takes place in his gym, there are things that I can do at home which will assist me in the gym. This is why Michael has given me homework. He has given me things to do in the past, but it is only recently that the homework list has become a bit more complex. I just finished two weeks of my first round of homework, a little circuit of 5 exercises to be done in about 15 minutes.

Yesterday, I received a new set of exercises to replace the previous ones. Upon first glance, I felt that the first two would be no problem, while the other three would probably kill me. For probably the first time, I had the nagging suspicion that my trainer was actually trying to kill me! He wanted me to do push-ups with a 2-second pause at the bottom of each rep. For real? A normal push-up isn’t my idea of fun. How am I supposed to do 5-10 reps (leaving 2 in the tank), while pausing at the bottom? Then I was to do 10 V sits. Lastly, I had to do a plank from a push-up position but lift one leg off the floor for 30 seconds. Yup, I was pretty sure that this homework was going to be tough.

You know what? The V sits were tough, especially since my abs are sore from Friday’s training session; however, the rest was easier than I had anticipated. Those paused push-ups were so much easier! I didn’t think I would be able to do more than one rep. Okay, I wasn’t sure that I could even do one rep with that long of a pause, but I did. I stopped at 5 reps…had to leave a couple in the tank. The plank was also within my ability to complete. I guess my trainer knows what I am capable of and isn’t trying to kill me after all!

My chiropractor also gives me homework. While it occasionally feels like he is trying to kill me when he is treating me, his homework is usually less evil, though not always. There is always purpose behind the homework…to make my body work better.

And that is why, no matter how much I might grumble…

diditanyway

Leave a Reply

