I’m So Excited

It is so very past my bedtime, but, despite what my husband is telling me at this very moment, I do need to blog before I go to bed. He doesn’t understand, and that’s okay…so long as he stops pestering me and lets me get the task done! I like to write about my training session as close to my session as possible, so that my memory is relatively fresh. With manic Mondays having officially begun, I am going to have to wait until after 9 PM before I can blog. It’s not ideal, but I am a night-owl by nature. I just have to tell myself that tomorrow is my Friday, that 5 or so hours of sleep will suffice (although it really won’t), and that there is caffeine to be had in the morning and all day long, if necessary. So, I guess I should stop rambling and get on with it.

1a. squat-low bar

Michael walked in the door with “PR” on his lips, and I was definitely feeling ready to hit some solid numbers. Competition is now less than 5 weeks away.

without belt: 45 x 8, 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 160 x 5

with belt: 185 x 5, 201.5 x 5 PR, 205 x 5 PR, 220 x 1

While the 220 pound single wasn’t a personal record, it was the first time that I have done that weight in the gym, and I think it was faster, smoother even, than that same weight in competition almost a month and a half ago! Although Michael thinks that he was more excited about it than I was, I am definitely stoked! I had never done 5 reps with 200 pounds, let alone 205, so I was a little nervous when Michael said that is what he wanted me to do. Having done 201.5, the 205 was less intimidating and, surprisingly, easier than I expected it to be! I knew I could do the 220 single, because I have done it before. Now I am really excited for the next competition! Even for next week!

1b. bench press-wide grip

43 x 8, 70 x 5, 85 x 5, 100 x 5, 100 x 5, 105 x 5 PR

2-board bench press: 90 x 5, 105 x 6

2a. pause squats-high bar, roughly 2 second pause

145 x 3, 165 x 3, 170 x 3

2b. bench press-close grip

85 x 12

3a. walking lunges with 55 lb vest x 24 steps, x 24

3b. TRX rows with 55 lb vest x 15, x 15

3c. toes to bar x 6, x 5

One thought on “I’m So Excited

Leave a Reply

