Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

wineday1

What a beautiful day to do a little wine touring with friends! I had never been to a winery before. Frankly, I’ve never really been much of a wine drinker either, although you might not have been able to tell that today! I also thought that I didn’t like white wine at all, but I was surprised to discover that I actually preferred many of the white wines we tried today over the reds. But really, I know nothing about wine!

We visited 8, yes 8 wineries today, and I bought wine at each of them with the exception of one. I am much too tired to go into great depth on each one, but let’s see what I can do.

Burrowing Owl:

This was our first stop, and it was gorgeous. I bought a 2013 Chardonnay and a 2014 Pinot Gris. I enjoyed both of those wines. I also sampled a Pinot Noir, a Merlot, and Athene…didn’t care for any of those.

Silver Sage:

This was my favourite of the bunch, but that is probably because their wines weren’t quite typical. If you like coolers, then you’d probably like their wines. In fact, we sampled 12 (yikes!) wines here, and there wasn’t a single one that I didn’t enjoy! I could have easily walked out of there with more than just the two bottles that I did purchase, but I wanted to pace myself, knowing we were early in the journey. I bought a 2014 Pinot Blanc and 2013 The Pearle (a dessert wine). Honestly, I should have bought more here.

Oliver Twist:

We sampled 10 wines here. Seriously? What is with the generous employees?! I might have been leaning on the counter a fair bit as we tasted. There were some wines that I did not like, some that I wasn’t sure about, and only one that I liked enough to purchase a bottle, 2013 Embrace.

Quinta Ferreira:

This was the one winery where I did not buy any wine. Nothing was really good enough to make me want to buy a bottle, and we sampled 11.

Jackson-Triggs/Inniskillin:

Two wineries in one stop! I tried 4 wines, but only one was really good enough for me to buy, Jackson-Triggs 2013 Grand Reserve Riesling.

Liquidity:

Five samples here. There were two whites that I liked, but I wound up buying a bottle of 2014 White Blend that I didn’t even sample! My friends both tried it and loved it more than the whites that I did try, so I bought it on their recommendation.

and finally,

Blue Mountain:

Five samples here. I didn’t like one and quite enjoyed three, but I only bought two. 2014 Estate Pinot Gris and 2014 Gamay Noir.

The photo above was taken between Liquidity and Blue Mountain, but really the entire area was breathtakingly beautiful. We could have easily hit many, many more wineries, but that will have to wait for another time.

On the way home, we stopped for some ice cream. Oh my delicious!

Despite all the wine, I still had some homework to do when I got home. Well, I did one round and called it quits. I’m supposed to do at least two sets of the five exercises, but one was enough. I probably could have pushed it and finished the second set, but why take the risk? Although I do have to say that the balancing on one leg and bending over exercise was actually pretty solid tonight…mostly.

Leave a Reply

