Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You)

I had a new training buddy this morning. This was her first session and she was nervous. As we waited for Michael, I told her that I was also incredibly nervous when I first started nearly two years ago, but that it didn’t take very long for me to love it. I hope she comes to love it, too, because making the choice to train was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. As I went about my own program, I did notice the things that Michael was having her do, basic movement patterns…building blocks. I remember those early days, albeit somewhat vaguely; I really have come a long way over the past two years!

3 minutes on the rower

1a. TRX inverted rows-legs straight out

x 5.75, x 5.5, x 5, x 4.75

Michael teases me about writing down a half or three-quarters rep, but I figure every little bit counts. It is hard work after all! Besides, if it were up to me, I would count those half and three-quarters reps as full reps, but I know that Michael wouldn’t give them to me. He’s mean to me that way, most of the time. He wants me to lift my body up so that my chest is next to my wrists. If I come within a couple of inches, I think that should count for something, right? I tend to feel a little frustrated with these, because they are tough but I feel as if I should get more reps. Michael reminds me that bodyweight isn’t always easy. So 148 pounds pulled up to within an inch or two of the target is pretty darn good in my opinion! 😉 I am determined to get stronger and better.

1b. incline bench press

45 x 8, 65 x 8, 65 x 8, 65 x 8, 65 x 7

This was an improvement over last week. There was an extra 2 pounds on the bar today, and I did an entire extra set of 8 reps. They felt pretty good, but I definitely felt the exertion in my triceps for the last few reps of the latter sets.

1c. goblet squats with a 10kg  kettle bell

5 sets of 15

2a. chin-ups with small green band

neutral grip x 7, underhand grip x 5, x 4  Michael had the band attached further away from my body for these sets, which made the chins more difficult. I’m not sure if that was intentional or not, but I definitely struggled more at the top. We switched the band to a more optimal position for the last set, but I forgot to write down how many reps I did and I cannot remember now. It was at least 3, maybe 4.

2b. seated cable face pulls

30 lbs x 15, x 15, x 12

2c. dips with blue band

x 8, x 8, x 8

Last week, Michael switched to a small red band for the second set, so he contemplated doing that again today. When he asked what I thought about it, I said that it all depended upon how many reps he wanted me to get. So, we stuck to the blue band. He said he’d be happy with even 6 reps for the second and third sets, but I managed to get the full 8 each time. But oh man, my poor triceps!

3a. kettle bell curls with wrists bent back

8 kg x 5 + 6 kg x 4

I didn’t even want to know how heavy the first pair of kettle bells that Michael handed me were. They felt heavy before I even began, and using kettle bells felt infinitely more difficult than using dumbbells.

6 kg x 10

3b. seated rear laterals using an orange band x 15

I thought rear laterals with dumbbells sucked.

Leave a Reply

