Monday, Monday

With today being a holiday, my training routine got changed up a bit and I had a morning session instead of the afternoon. It really shouldn’t make that much of a difference to me, as I do have a morning session on Wednesdays, but it did feel odd to be doing squats with a fresh body instead of the one that has been up for 13 hours and worked a full day before I even get to the gym. Somehow though, the fresh and rested body didn’t seem to make the squats feel any easier.

1a. low bar squats (we made the switch back to low bar since we are now less than 6 weeks from competition)

without belt: 45 x 8, 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 160 x 5 cued to pull the bar down

with belt: 185 x 5, 195 x 5, 195 x 5, 195 x 5 The fourth rep was really slow and tough. Michael asked how I felt, if I wanted to go for one more, and I wanted it. After a couple extra breaths, that last rep was a little faster and better than the previous. First time doing multiple sets of 5 at 195 pounds!

1b. bench press-competition (wide) grip

43 x 8, 63 x 5, 83 x 5, 93 x 5, 100 x 5, 100 x 5, 100 x 4, 93 x 5

In the early sets I felt like I was sliding around a fair bit on the bench, so Michael put a couple of bands on the bench to provide some “stick”. I think it helped, but it somehow also felt odd; however, I’m not sure if the strangeness came from the bands or from me playing with my foot positioning. I didn’t tell Michael, but I had my feet a little further out from the centre of my body. A week or so ago, he had commented about foot positioning and the risk of having the butt come off the bench. There have been times, especially with higher reps, where I have to fight to keep my butt on the bench, so I tried moving my feet away today. I think it helped with the butt, but I definitely need to get used to the change in leg drive.

2a. pause squats-high bar

135 x 3 with 2 second pause, 155 x 3 with 2 second pause, 165 x 3 with 2 second pause

2b. lying dumbbell triceps extensions

15 lbs x 10, x 7

2c. toes to bar x 3

I can do much better than that, but my hands were super slippery and I aborted the fourth rep rather than end up dropping onto my back.

3. walking lunges with 55 lb vest x 45 steps

Leave a Reply

