Deadlifts & Dead Tired

Technically today is my Monday. My Mondays are my least favourite day. I go to work in the morning really wishing that I could stay home in bed. I go through the work day wishing that I could run away, far, far away and never return. The work day is long, much too long. How can 7.5 hours feel like 18? The work day is crazy. I am sweating as soon as I begin work, and then I am run off my feet. By the time I am finished at 1:00 PM, I am utterly wiped out, exhausted, drained, and ready to curl up in the fetal position. Today was like every other Friday…times, oh about 10! Home from work, I changed my clothes and sprawled on the living room floor, since I can’t sit on the furniture. When I did get up to do some puttering in the kitchen, my mind really wasn’t all there. A nap would have been lovely but wasn’t going to happen. When I went to make my pre-workout cup of coffee, I struggled to recall the proper steps. But once that caffeine hit the bloodstream, I had all the mental clarity and energy that I needed to hit the gym.

1a. bench press-competition grip which for me is now a wider grip and first time using this grip since the last competition

43 x 8, 68 x 5, 83 x 6, 83 x 6…Michael told me that if I wanted to increase the weight, then I had to do this set with speed. I guess I was fast enough! 90 x 6, 90 x 6

1b. deadlifts-competition with a pause about a couple of inches off the floor

95 x 8-9ish as practiced technique…too much back.

135 x 5, 165 x 4

with belt: 185 x 4 x 4 sets

Just got to say that these were a little challenging, but they are working my weak spot.

2a. block pulls with straps (single loop)

185 x 3 beltless

with belt: 215 x 3, 215 x 3 this set was tough and some back movement on the last rep, 195 x 3 better

2b. parallette push-ups with a sarcastic smile and eye roll

x 8, x 4.5

fat man pull-ups

x 8 with a “too long” pause on the last rep, x 8 with extremely short pause

3. looks like we’ll be working my grip strength…so I had to just hang from the bar, the thicker bar, without chalk, aiming for a full minute

I lasted 46 seconds.

My calluses are sore and ringed with redness. That energy I found right before the gym? It’s gone now. Completely. I inhaled all of my dinner, and I am essentially a puddle on the floor.

Leave a Reply

