Deadlift Day

Fridays are not my favourite work days of the week. This is the day when I am usually working the busiest, most stressful and demanding position. With the nature of my job, it really isn’t rocket-science, however, the “powers that be” tend to live in a fantasy world where they have no concept of reality. The demands and pressure are only ever-increasing with no regard given to the limitations of equipment & storage space and the human body. A full, busy day of making bagels and sandwiches and wraps and such really takes a toll on a person. Lucky me, I get to be the one doing it all again tomorrow morning for a few hours by myself. If I wasn’t made of sterner stuff I’d want to cry at the prospect of doing it again in the morning, but I will survive. As wiped out as I was from work, I was eager to get to the gym and put in a different, a fun kind of hard work. Today was all about the deadlift…can’t get much more fun than that!

  1. sumo deadlifts

beltless 75 x 8, 135 x 5, 175 x 5, 205 x 3 started using straps at this point, 225 x 3

with belt 235 x 1, 245 x 2 …was supposed to be 3 reps but the third just wasn’t happening…still a PR for sumo deadlift reps

2. block pulls-sumo with straps

beltless 185 x 5, 215 x 5

with belt 245 x 4…was going for 5 reps but it didn’t happen

beltless 225 x 5

3a. sumo RDLs-with straps but only one loop

165 x 16, 165 x 13…man, was this set ever tough!, 165 x 15…much better

I’ve got some bar rash on my left knee and thigh from these, although I think the spot higher up on my thigh was actually from the edge of the straps. Neither spot is too bad; it’s only skin and will heal. No blood!

3b. ab wheel x 10, x 10, x 10

Michael had me set up so that there was a “block” at a predetermined end point. The first set was a little close and super easy, originally was supposed to be 8 reps but extended to 10. My starting point was moved back an inch or two for the next two sets. While it was slightly more challenging, it was still rather easy, for the ab wheel.

Then I went home and registered for my next competition which will be mid-October. I’m super-stoked about it. There are a couple of Provincial records that are within striking distance, like roughly 5 or 6 pounds. The fact that I’m doing this competition completely wipes out any disappointment I might feel about not running in any of the BMO Okanagan races on Thanksgiving weekend (Canadian Thanksgiving). My trainer is also registered to compete in this competition, so it will be fun to watch him compete, too!

Leave a Reply

