Angela versus the Safety Bar

My husband and I drove up to Kamloops on the weekend to watch a powerlifting competition. I appreciate the fact that my husband doesn’t mind indulging my new-found passion. While I have no problem watching powerlifting for 5 hours, I understand that not everyone will have that same enthusiasm. Thankfully, my husband doesn’t seem to mind it, even if his favourite powerlifter isn’t competing! Of course, being there and watching others compete only makes me want to compete more. Registration hasn’t opened yet, but I am hoping to compete in October.

With eyes on that October competition, Michael is just about ready to switch up the training program again. I wasn’t sorry to say good-bye to the sets of 10 reps for squats, but that didn’t mean I had it any easier today.

1a. squats-safety bar

beltless, body-builder style: 75 x 8, 125 x 5, 145 x 3, 165 x 3

still beltless but with a pause between reps now: 185 x 3

with belt:  205 x 0

I don’t miss very many squats. Since I began personally keeping a training log at the end of October 2014, I have missed only 3 squats. Two of those were in training and were complete failures, while the third was in competition and was a technicality rather than a strength issue. I just don’t miss squats! So, I set up for this one and expected it to be no big deal. It felt heavy as I unracked the bar, but I knew that I was wholly capable of handling that weight. I squatted, tried to lift and the bar just tipped me forward and there was nothing I could do to stop the momentum. I fell to my knees, the bar landed on the safeties, and I’m pretty sure I resembled Bambi after his first step onto ice. So glad that we weren’t filming that rep! Gosh darn it, I hate to fail! It’s amazing how many horrible thoughts and images can flash through your mind in those few seconds, but I think I’m okay.

drop the weight to 185 x 1, 195 x 1, 205 210 x 0

We loaded the bar with 205 pounds, because Michael knew that I wanted redemption. Before I actually made the attempt, Michael added another 5 pounds. We both knew that the weight wouldn’t be a problem. <sigh> I descended into the squat and started back up and found myself stuck somewhere around the midway point. It felt like I was stuck there for an eternity. With the safety bar, I couldn’t see if Michael was going to grab the bar and I wasn’t sure if I wanted him to grab it or not! Okay, really I didn’t want him to grab it, but I wasn’t certain that I’d be able to finish the squat. Eventually the bar began to rise and I finished, only to learn that Michael had indeed assisted, which meant that he wouldn’t let me count that attempt. Meanie! Just kidding. I wouldn’t count it myself. I want to earn every rep I make. Still, it is a little frustrating that the safety bar kicked my ass today. Michael kept reminding me that the safety bar will do that and the nature of the bar does make it more difficult. I know he’s right, but I don’t have to like it, right?

without belt: 165 x 6 x 3 sets

1b. bench press-close grip

45 x 5, 75 x 5, 90 x 3, 105 x 3, 110 x 1…there was an attempt at a second rep but it didn’t survive

95 x 6 x 3 sets

2a. incline dumbbell presses

25 lb x 10, 27.5 x 8, 27.5 x 8

2b. band pull-aparts with red band

behind head x 10, x 10

across chest x 10, x 10

2c. toes to bar

x 6, x 5  Grip was totally an issue here, as in my hands were much too sweaty! Need to use chalk!

3. some sort of bent over, pinch shoulder blades, pull arms back and up with 5 lb dumbbells x 20 reps

2 thoughts on “Angela versus the Safety Bar

Leave a Reply

