The Moody Blues

Today was my Friday. I hate to say it, but I was cranky. Sleep has not been kind to me for the past five days or so, and last night was no exception. I woke up tired after a restless night filled with strange dreams and periods of wakefulness. If I didn’t have a training session today, I would have worn my glasses because my eyes were not keen on opening. Work felt like work today, and I really didn’t want to be there. A headache bloomed, and then my neck began to hurt, like I really need an adjustment kind of hurt. What I really wanted to do was take matters into my own hands and crack my neck, knowing that there would be sweet relief, but I was a good girl and managed to restrain myself. Chiro on Thursday cannot come soon enough! I tried to nap this afternoon but only managed maybe five minutes of an almost asleep state. Still, I just stayed stretched out on the sofa in the darkened living room for an hour, willing the pain in my neck to go away (and getting nowhere) and resting.

I was still moody by the time I got to the gym, still feeling the headache and neck pain. While Mondays are usually squat days, with tomorrow being a somewhat unique and special training session, I wasn’t sure what Michael would have me do today. When I learned that squats and bench were still on the agenda, I was a happier girl, although I wasn’t too thrilled about the rear delt flyes.

1a. safety bar squats-body builder style

warm-up: 75 x 10, 105 x 5

main event: 125 x 4 sets of 10…they were easy enough that Michael had me do a fifth set!

If that doesn’t sound impressive enough…I squatted more than 6250 pounds tonight!

1b. bench press-close grip and body builder style

warm-up: 43 x 8, 63 x 6

main event: 70 x 4 sets of 10…and Michael added a fifth set here, too!

2a. dumbbell incline presses

20 lb x 10, x 12, 25 lb x 12

The last two sets were body-builder style.

2b. walking lunges with 55 lb vest

x 18 steps, x 18, x 18

2c. rear delt flyes

10 lbs x 15, x 15, x 12

Oh my goodness! I surprised myself here, because I don’t think I’ve ever been so consistent on my reps with subsequent sets. Usually I do okay on the first set and really, really struggle with each set after that, but today was amazing! I could actually say that I didn’t hate the rear delts today…and I never say that!

2d. face pulls

15 lbs x 3 sets of 15

For how crappy the rest of the day felt, my training session was awesome. More weight, more reps, smoother, and easier all around…definitely worked up a sweat and an appetite and thirst. There is a hot bath calling my name tonight! The headache has quieted down to a simmer, but I can still feel the tension in my neck. My attitude is definitely in a better place, although now I can begin stressing over tomorrow’s interview!

Leave a Reply

