Sumo & Front Squats

Have you ever woken before your alarm is set to go off? That can be a good thing or a not so good thing depending on a number of factors. While I am resigned to the fact that I will usually wake up earlier than hoped for on my days off, when it comes to my working days I can get quite cranky about it. Even though I make every attempt to get to bed early on a work night, the fact is that I would need to fall asleep instantly, stay asleep all night, and wake up with my alarm in order to get a full 8 hours of sleep, and that simply doesn’t happen. By the time I crawled into bed last night it was already 7:15 pm, and my alarm was set for 3:15 am. I was still awake at least 15-20 minutes later, and I woke up around 9:00 and again around 11:30. My sleep was strangely deep yet shallow, filled with tossing and uncomfortable positions. Then, I was suddenly wide awake and it was 2:30. Wide awake…as in I was not going to be able to fall back asleep for the final 45 minutes I had available to me, and yet it was 2:30 in the morning and there was no way that I wanted to get up that early! Of course, I never did get back to sleep, but I somehow survived the day even though I waited until roughly 7:00 to get some caffeine into my body.

Today’s training session was fun, but it was still hard work that I am going to feel for a few days.

1. deadlifts

We’re switching things up for a while before the next competition prep, which means I’ll be doing sumo deadlifts. I haven’t done sumo for quite a while, but these felt pretty good, possibly even easier than the last time I tried sumo.

95 x 6, 135 x 8, 165 x 6, 185 x 6, 185 x 6, 185 x 7, 165 x 4

2. front squats

slightly narrower stance than my typical squat stance

45 x 6, 95 x 6, 115 x 6, 135 x 6

I love front squats. Okay…I just love squats. It’s been a while since I’ve done front squats, too. While I don’t necessarily enjoy the sensation of being in a choke hold, I really do enjoy my front squats.

3a. good mornings using the safety bar

75 x 10, 85 x 10, 85 x 10

3b. toes to bar

Normally I climb up to hang from one of the squat racks to do these, but Michael wanted me to do them using the bar suspended from the ceiling…and he wanted me to jump up and grab onto the bar to do them. My hesitation showed. He kept telling me that if I could squat 200 pounds, then I could jump high enough. I knew that I was capable of getting the height. I just wasn’t so confident that I could grab hold of the bar in the process. Sometimes I feel completely uncoordinated and awkward. But I took a leap of faith, literally, and grabbed hold of the bar! Yes, I do manage to surprise myself still.

x 7, x 6

3c. calf raises

x 12 each, x 9 each

I do these after a run; however, I haven’t done a lot of running this year, which means my calves are going to be sore tomorrow.

3d. skipping

The goal here was to do 100 skips or 1 minute and throw in double-unders when I could. I couldn’t keep up with counting, so I skipped for a minute each of the 2 sets. Really not sure how many double-unders in the first set, at least 4-6 but maybe more, and 12 in the second set.

Leave a Reply

