The Hard Work Begins Again

Michael said that my training sessions would get tougher after the competition, and he wasn’t joking, not that I really thought he was. I definitely worked up a good sweat and appetite, and I hope that all of this will result in a better night’s sleep than I’ve had in a few days.

1a. safety bar squats

warm-up: 75 pounds x 8, 105 x 5

main event: 4 sets of 10 @ 115 pounds

The last 3 sets of 10 were done body-builder style or without much of a pause between reps. When I say that my legs are like Jell-O, my kids disagree, saying that my legs don’t look like Jell-O. Well, I don’t care what my legs look like, because right now they can’t even really stop quivering, which is close enough to gelatin for me.

1b. bench press

warm-up: 45 x 8

main event: 4 sets of 10 @ 65 pounds

I am back to the narrow grip for the bench press. The first set felt a little odd as I had to readjust to the change in grip, but these felt relatively easy and good.

2a. walking lunges with a 55 pound vest

3 sets of 16

Oh the burn!

There were a few reps scattered throughout in which I felt a bit of a pinch of pain in the bottom of my hip, right in the area that has been giving me trouble when I sit for too long. The pain was brief and not too bad and not with every rep.

2b. incline dumbbell presses

4 sets of 10 with 20 pound dumbbells

3a. the dreaded rear laterals

10 pound dumbbells x roughly 20, x 12, x 9

There may have been some grumbling with the laterals. It can’t be helped. I grumble because I hate them, but I’ll do the best I can.

3b. face pulls

10 pounds x 15, x 10, x 10

one set pulling to my upper chest

20 pounds x 20

I finished just over an hour ago, and I can feel my glutes burning. At what point tomorrow will I begin to feel the pain? How well will I be walking on Wednesday? Ironically, I wore my quadzilla socks today.

Leave a Reply

