3 Days!

I had my last pre-competition training session this morning, although I didn’t even break a sweat and wouldn’t exactly call it a work-out. It was all about going through the motions today.

1a. military press

45 lb x 6, x 5, x 5

The first two sets were with a narrow grip, while the third set was a bit wider.

55 lb x 3 narrow, x 3 wider, x 3 wider

65 lb x 0

43 lb x 4 trying to shrug the shoulders before I press…I think this would take some time to get the hang of, so we’re not going to worry about it for the competition.

Basically I just need to make sure my forearms are perpendicular, my elbows are properly stacked beneath the bar, and keep the bar close to my face.

Random fact of the day: My arms are the exact same length as my trainer’s!

1b. squats

45 lbs x 5, x 5

55 lbs x 5, x 5, x 5

65 lbs x 5

2. deadlifts

75 lbs x 5 for 2 sets

I was a little worried that 75 pounds was too close to maximal for me, but it felt surprisingly easy. 😉

The weigh-in is stressing me out a little. I have such a small amount of weight to cut, but it feels like a really big thing! The nice thing about weighing in the night before is that you have time to refuel the body; however, the not-so-nice thing about weighing in the night before is that you have to wait all day. My body weight goes up over the course of a day, so I would much prefer to weigh-in in the morning. <sigh>

So, I need to do a bit of water-loading. I’ll be drinking 6 litres of water today and 7 litres tomorrow. If you need me, I’ll be in the bathroom.

Leave a Reply

