5 Days

I am hot and cold. Up and down. Starving yet sick of eating. Excited. Grumpy. Tired. It seems like I am just about everything except nervous, and my emotions can change as quickly as flipping a light switch. Now that I have food in my belly (and I was definitely hungry enough to eat it all!), the angry beast has been soothed and the excitement is beginning to build once again.

I brought my scale to the gym this afternoon, so that we could compare it to Michael’s accurate scale. My scale said that I was 150.2, while Michael’s said that I was 149. Good to know! I need to be below 148.5 by 5:00 PM on Friday. No problem, Michael says. I know he is right, but I will feel much better once I’ve actually weighed in.

With the competition only 5 days away, today was a relatively easy session of going through the motions of the three lifts at roughly 80%.

1a. squats

without belt: 45 x 5, 95 x 5, 135 x 3, 155 x 3

with belt: 175 x 1, 185 x 1, 185 x 1, 185 x 1

The final rep wasn’t as fast as Michael wanted it to be, but any perceived slowness wasn’t due to fatigue. Squats felt good today.

1b. bench press

43 x 5, 63 x 5, 78 x 3, 88 x 3, 100 x 1, 100 x 1, 100 x 1

Bench felt good. The right shoulder threatened to pop out from under me a couple of times early on, but I kept it in place by sheer determination. Michael had me do some TRX rows between sets, focusing on keeping the shoulder blades together the entire time.

6 sets of 12 reps

2. deadlifts

without belt: 135 x 5, 185 x 2

with belt and mixed grip: 205 x 1, 205 x 1, 205 x 1

Deadlifts also felt good and super easy.

Leave a Reply

