7 Days

By this time next week, it will all be over. Will I be pleased with my performance? Will I reach the goals that I have set for myself? Will I exceed my expectations or fall a little short? Will I break my own National records? By how much? So many questions…and I hate not knowing the answers in advance! I have been instructed to NOT think about it, and I will do my best to follow that advice. So let me talk about something else that is only somewhat related to the competition…cutting weight!

I don’t have a lot of weight to cut, maybe 3 pounds, but I’d prefer to avoid drastic measures to make weight on that final day. I have already been cleaning up my diet for the past week or two, and as of today it is suddenly squeaky clean. No wheat. No flours. Little to no processed food. And I am eating slightly less than I have been. Michael thinks this will be an easy cut, and he’s probably correct. I lost 2-3 pounds over the past week just by cleaning up my diet and without really reducing my carbs or calories. However, I have to say that I’ve been hungry today, which isn’t that unusual for a Saturday, since I’m running around so much at work that my normal eating routine gets thrown out the window. It’s not that I was truly hungry today. It was more a mental thing, as in “I can’t have all those delicious but nutrient-deprived goodies, so I absolutely want to eat them ALL!” Every donut that I bagged for a customer had me salivating, and I don’t even like at least half of our donuts. It’s not like I eat donuts on a regular basis, but I suddenly miss being able to have one anytime I want. There’s nothing quite like knowing you can’t have something to make you want it!

It could be a very long week! Maybe thinking about food will keep me from over-thinking the competition…

Leave a Reply

