8 Days

I am 8 days from competition and 7 days from weigh-in. My sleep was 100% last night, and today was a better work day than I had anticipated. The day was still exhausting, but my attitude was in a good place. Maybe it helps knowing that I am also counting down days until I have a little “holiday”. As of 1:30 PM on Tuesday, I will be off work for 5 days! I can hardly wait. But today was my last heavy bench day.

1. bench press

45 x 8, 65 x 5, 80 x 5, 90 x 3, 100 x 2, 110 x 1…This was okay, but I lost my shoulder and brought the bar down to the wrong place, although I think I misplaced the bar before the shoulder slipped.

115 x 1…Bar path was better here, but it was slow and felt a bit tougher than it should have, I think. Pretty sure my shoulder still slipped a bit. I might have growled under my breath after finishing that one, because I knew that effort would mean an end to the weight increases. Sure enough, Michael said that we wouldn’t go any heavier. <sigh> He’s the boss!

So, he had me do some one-arm cable rows between the last two sets.

20 lbs x 12 each side for 2 sets

bench press: 110 x 1, 100 x 3

On Wednesday, Michael had said that we could practice some squats today. After we finished with the bench, Michael asked me if I wanted to do some squats or save them for Monday. He should know better than to ask me a question like that, because I never want to say no to squats; however, I think I am smart enough to listen to reason. I was willing to do whatever he thought would be best, and I am being completely honest about that. So, he said we’d save it for Monday…but then he changed his mind! I wasn’t about to complain.

2. squats-low bar

without belt: 45 x 8, 95 x 5, 135 x 5

with belt: 155 x 3, 175 x 2, 185 x 1, 195 x 1

The squats felt really good today, definitely better than they did on Wednesday! I think I only had a depth issue with one rep (the second rep at 175, I think), and bar path was good for almost every rep. I might have been a little lackadaisical on the rep at 195 and forgot to put some effort into pushing with my legs. So Michael dropped the weight down to 175 and had me do 3 reps with more speed and actively pushing. The first two reps were pretty good, while the bar moved forward a little on the last rep. But, it was good to remember what good squats can feel like.

On Monday, we are going to do a little mock meet, practicing all three lifts to no more than 80%.

Leave a Reply

