12 Days

Twelve days from competition, and we switched things up a bit today. Normally I would do squats on a Monday, but we’re going to do my final heavy squat day on Wednesday and my final heavy bench on Friday. Since I had my last heavy deadlift last Friday, today was some easy bench and (not so easy, in my opinion) back work.

1. bench press

45 x 8, 75 x 5, 85 x 5, 95 x 3, 105 x 1…it was decent but the bar moved a bit on me, so I did it again, 105 x 1 and this was better

95 x 3, 95 x 4, 95 x 4

2. chin-ups using small green band and a palms forward grip

x 7, x 6, x 5

My technique sucks, and that’s all I’m going to say about it right now. So, Michael had me do the following to reinforce the proper way to move my upper body:

cable pull-downs:

with a straight bar: 110 pounds x 4, 100 x 5

with a v-handle: 100 x 8

3. my “favourite” little circuit

the unnamed delts standing lateral type thing:

8 lb dumbbells x 20, x 20

bent over laterals (oh how I hate these!):

8 lbs x 15, x 10

alternating curls:

20 lb dumbbells x 8 each, x 8 each

I have difficulty in being less strict, so Michael kind of made me put a little body English into the second set when the reps started getting hard. Awkward! Somehow that doesn’t feel natural, and yet he had to keep reminding me NOT to use the body with the standing delts thing. I’ll get it figured out eventually…

Leave a Reply

