A Weight Lifted

I’ve been more than a little moody the past few days. It has become apparent that the two points of pain in my hip are, in fact, two separate issues. The front of the hip is progressing well and seldom causes me much discomfort, but the back of the hip seems to be getting worse. There has also been increasing numbness in the big toe of my right foot, and that does seem to be connected to the pain at the back of my hip. It’s unlikely to be an injury or a result of anything I’ve done, but it seems to be a nerve issue. Regardless of the cause, it has made me quite miserable. Sitting and laying down make it worse, which means that going to bed has been an exercise in extreme frustration and discomfort. It would almost be easier to chop my toe off, or at least I could fall asleep more quickly. My chiropractor wants me to get some x-rays of my back, so I’ve made an appointment with my doctor to set that in motion. Making appointments with my doctor always makes me feel frustrated, too. But today was my last heavy deadlift day of my peaking program, and that was something to be excited about.

1. deadlifts-deficit

without belt: 125 x 5, 175 x 3, 195 x 2

with belt: 215 x 1, 230 x 1, 240 x 1 (the bar started out a little forward on this one), and 265 x 1 PR

2. stiff-legged deadlifts from deficit

2 sets of 8 @ 165 pounds

3. military press

45 x 8, 60 x 3 work on bracing core, 70 x 1, 70 x 1 plus 2 push press, 70 x 0, 65 x 1 plus 2 push press

Michael noticed that my bar path is much better with the push, because I keep my chin back better knowing that the bar is going to come up faster with the push. So that is something I need to work on.

4a. reverse hypers

40 lbs x 20, x 13ish

4b. some sort of plank/push-up thing with my hands on sliders, moving one arm forward, at a 45 degree angle, and to the side

2 sets with a few extra reps on the second set

The hip felt good during my training session. As Michael so aptly said, “A big weight had been lifted!”

The best kind of therapy.

Leave a Reply

