T-rex Arms

1a. bench press…and yes, I used my proper grip today!

45 x 9, 65 x 5, 80 x 3, 90 x 3, 100 x 1,

110 x 1  This one was a little slow. My right shoulder seemed to slip when I went to press.

110 x 1 better

117 x 1  You know…I literally just realized that this was a new PR! My previous best was 115.7 at the April competition. Isn’t that funny! I knew this PR attempt was coming, because Michael showed me the peaking program, but somehow I completely forgot about it as I was training today.

105 x 3…was supposed to be 5 reps

105 x 2…was supposed to be 3 reps

Michael dropped the weight to 95 for 3 reps.

It was definitely good to be back at my proper grip. Everything was fairly smooth and fast in the early stages, although I seemed to struggle with the rep sets at the end. As Michael reminded me, those are accessories and not the important part of the program. Can I blame it on the other accessory work I did today?

1b. “I can’t remember what it is called but it opens the shoulders”

5 lb dumbbells x 20, 8 lb dumbbells x 20, x 20, x 12

1c. rear laterals

5 lb dumbbells x 20, 8 lb x 12, x 9?, x 15 (because I did these before the nameless thing this time!)

For the record, I hate laterals.

1d. band pull aparts, band face pulls, one set of 15 dumbbell curls with 10 lbs

2. chin-ups using small green band

x 6, x 6, x 5, x 1.5 that last set was so pathetic because it was done after the following…

combo curls: 15 lb dumbbells

palms down x 10, palms up x 4, hammer x 4

x 5, x 3, x 3

Accessory work sucks.

Leave a Reply

