A Hip, Squats and Carbs

The original plan for today was a bit of a de-load for the squats in anticipation of my last heavy deadlift at the end of this week; however, Monday’s squats never seem to have an impact on Friday’s deadlifts, so we played it by ear and worked our way up.

The hip, while it had been doing very well for several days last week, has been a bit of a bother both today and yesterday. It’s still improving, I think, but it is a little frustrating and mystifying as to the how and why the hip gets annoyed. At work I’m fairly certain the hip is bothered by the repetitive movements associated with my job, particularly turning and twisting at the hip with my leg planted. I do that a lot at work, but again the hip isn’t always bothered. Aside from at work, the rest is a mystery. Sitting, standing, walking, laying in bed…the hip has been bothered, pained and uncomfortable at various times in all those actions. Training is usually pain-free. The hip hurt most of the day and for the entire drive to the gym. It is sore right now, but it was mostly fine at the gym. Mostly.

1. squats

without belt: 45 x 5, 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 155 x 3,

with belt: 175 x 2, 185 x 1, 195 x 1, 205 x 1, 215 x 1

Those squats felt pretty good, and the bar path was fairly consistent and decent. This was only the second time that I have squatted 215 pounds and the first time that Michael has seen me do it. The first time was a week before my last competition when Michael was away on holidays. That time was with knee sleeves, while this time was without since I cannot wear them in this competition. Although it has been about 3 months since the last 215 squat, I think this one was a bit smoother, maybe a little bit faster. Michael said he was happy with it and it wasn’t maximal! Sounds good to me!

195 x 3

This set felt really tough, and the third rep was ugly and probably all back.

195 x 3

This set was much better. As I was resting after the second set, the bottom backside of my hip was aching. This spot has been a part of the hip issue, although the main problem area is with the front hip flexor. The odd time my hip does bother me at the gym it is always the front flexor, so it was odd that the backside was bothering me all of a sudden. I rolled it a bit with a lacrosse ball and did a couple of stretches. The plan was to do 3 sets of 3 @ 195, but Michael decided to drop the weight for the final set rather than potentially cause more harm. I can’t argue with that logic, especially this close to competition.

175 x 3

This set was decent but it sure felt tough!

2a. glute-ham raises holding a 4 pound ball below my chin

x 12, x 8

2b. ab wheel

x 9, x 10 ish (I lost count when Michael told me to breathe. I was in fact breathing, but he wanted me to breathe out as I rolled out…to make it harder, like I really needed it to be harder!)

As much as I am looking forward to the end of my mandatory high carb requirements, I have to say that post-training is a good time to eat lots of carbs, at least these past few weeks. While it doesn’t always feel like I’m doing much in a training session these days as I’m preparing for competition, I am certainly working up an appetite.

Leave a Reply

