The Mojo Returns

Remember my bench press blunder on Tuesday…how I went really wide with my grip? It didn’t seem to bother my shoulder during my training session, but my shoulder was definitely a little annoyed for the past two days. By the time I went to bed Tuesday night, I could tell that my shoulder was a little off, not sore or anything like that, so I made sure that I didn’t sleep on my right side and aggravate my shoulder further. Of course, I have rarely slept on my most favourite right side for more than a year because of the original shoulder issue. On Wednesday my shoulder was so noisy. I couldn’t move it without causing a clicking noise and feeling some clunking going on, but it still didn’t hurt. Yesterday was even worse. While the shoulder still wasn’t actually in pain, it felt uncomfortable and out of sorts. I couldn’t help but feel worried and frustrated with myself. With my competition three weeks away, the last thing I want is an injury, especially one that is caused by my own stupidity, so I made sure to a bunch of stretches and things that both my trainer and chiropractor have had me do for my shoulder. Today, thankfully, my shoulder feels much better. The clicking and clunking is virtually gone, and the sense of discomfort is quite minimal.

Today was deadlift day, and I was so excited to get to the gym and lift heavy things! The difference between this peaking cycle and the last is like night and day. I don’t dread the deadlifts anymore; I love them! While I am excited for the competition, I think I am most looking forward to the deadlift portion just so that I can see what I am capable of pulling!

1a. deadlifts-still rocking the deficit

125 x 6, 155 x 3, 185 x 3 all beltless

with belt: 205 x 2, 225 x 1, 240 x 1, 255 x 1 which is a new PR in the gym

1 set of 3 @ 235

The deadlifts felt great and fast. Positioning was good.

1b. military press-sigh

43 x 6, 43 x 7, 63 x 3, 68 x 2, 73 x 1

6 sets of 3 @ 65  (with my belt for the last set)

This was really just about working on my technique. It’s getting better. Practice definitely makes better. Still not a favourite.

2. Romanian deadlifts-from a deficit, no straps but chalk on the second set, overhand grip

2 sets of 8 @ 155

Leave a Reply

