Monday, Monday

“Monday, Monday, can’t trust that day
Monday, Monday, it just turns out that way
Oh, Monday, Monday, won’t go away
Monday, Monday, it’s here to stay”

The Mamas & The Papas expressed my sentiments quite well. Today has just been an odd sort of day. I slept reasonably well last night, as I have for a couple of weeks now, however, my sleep has also seemed restless for the past few nights. I’m finding it difficult to stay in one position for too long, so I’m moving around a lot. Today was my earliest start of my work week, which meant that I was out the door by 4:20. It was 25 degrees Celsius with a light rain shower. The weather combination felt instantly wrong. The rain was nice, but it really shouldn’t be that warm that early in the morning, especially while it is raining! The work day was decidedly odd, too. Time dragged. The regular pace of a Monday was disrupted and people were off-kilter. The rain gave way to sun by midday and humidity tagged along. The humidity might have made my training session feel a bit harder.

1. squats-low bar

45 x 8, 95 x 5, 135 x 5 beltless

with belt: 155 x 3, 175 x 2, 190 x 1, 205 x 1, 212 x 1

The 212 had a bit of a slow sticking point, but the bar moved quickly once I got my chest up.

187 x 5, 187 x 5

Right before the fifth rep of the second set, Michael made a comment about getting a bit deeper or something along that line. Of course, that meant I went much too deep on that final rep and almost got myself into a pickle, but I kept my position and managed to get my chest up and finish the rep. Michael said that he knew I would go too deep as soon as he made that comment. Depth is such a fine line!

I have to say that the squats felt a little heavier today than they did last week. Sure, the weights did go up just a little, but I think the humidity was making me feel more fatigued than I actually was. Despite some of the slow spots, I think the bar moved well today. My positioning felt good. Depth felt good, except for that one rep! I definitely didn’t have the depth issues that I had last week. I guess every week can’t feel super fantastic, but today was still a decent day.

Since next week is a deload for squats, I was able to do some pause squats today.

2 sets of 3 @ 165 pounds with 2 second pauses

The pause squats actually felt better than I had expected after the way the rest of my squats felt and how the pauses felt a few weeks ago. The last time I did pause squats, my right hip was most uncomfortable in the hole and throbbed for a while after. No discomfort today and no post-training throb so far!

2a. toes to bar

I had to chalk up my hands before attempting these today or I would never have been able to do them. Thankfully, Michael said I could do what I could do and not worry about hitting a new PR. Of course, having said that, I really wanted to do as many as I possibly could! I managed 8 reps for the first set and only 2 for the second. If I didn’t feel so wiped out, I would be disappointed with having only done 2 reps that set…got to remember it isn’t the main event!

2b. glute-ham raises

I love these! I really, really do. In all sincerity.

2 sets of 15…even though Michael said I could stop at 12 on the second set if I wanted. Ha ha!

So, it was a tougher training session today but rewarding. As I was ready to walk out the door, Michael commented that I did everything that we wanted to achieve today, and he’s right! He’s got my peaking program set out, and I’ve been hitting those numbers. This is where I want to be right now.

Leave a Reply

