Dreaming of Deadlifts

On a whim I just looked back to a blog post from almost exactly 3 months ago. Actually it was 3 months ago as of yesterday, but it was exactly the type of post I was looking for to contrast with today. At that point, I was peaking for a competition, although I was probably a week closer to it than I am right now for my next one. On that day I was supposed to deadlift 250 pounds, which would have been a new PR for me, but I couldn’t do it. My deadlift sucked. I was so frustrated. I hated the deadlift, forgetting how much I used to love them. My training reps felt so heavy, and I doubted myself. As I have said before, that competition taught me some lessons, as I surprised myself by pulling more than I had thought possible based on how my deadlift struggled. Since that competition in April, my love for the deadlift has returned and so has my confidence.

1a. deadlifts from a deficit

115 x 5, 165 x 5

Then we changed the bar. I have been using a stiffer bar, but we switched to a smaller, lighter bar with more whip. The difference in the weight of the bar wreaked havoc with our addition skills today, but we got it figured out eventually. My excuse is that I have been awake since 3:45 this morning.

with my belt:

195 x 3, 215 x 1, 230 x 1, 245 x 1

It kind of feels like I’m boasting, but my deadlifts were great today! My positioning was good. They felt fast and strong and easy! That 245 pounds equals my best ever training deadlift, and this one was definitely easier than when I did it 3 months ago. And if I wanted to get really technical, I could say that I actually set a new gym PR, as the bumper plates are a little heavier than they are supposed to be, by roughly 4 pounds. We checked.

220 x 2 sets of 3  feeling good!

1b. the military press

45 x 5, 65 x 5, 70 x 1, 70 x 1 a bit of a grinder, 70 x 1, 70 x 0, 67.5 x 1 it’s a weird number because I forgot to add a 2.5 pound plate to one end! oops!, 70 x ? can’t remember if I got that one or not…probably not., 65 x 1, 65 x 5 push presses

My technique sucks. I suppose I shouldn’t beat myself up too much, because the military press has not been a regular part of my training. If I were to train it more regularly, then I am sure that I would improve. Why did I agree to do this event in the competition again?! Thankfully this event doesn’t count towards my total. It’s icing on the cake. Of course, sometimes the icing is the best part of having cake; however, in this instance, I’d much rather have the cake! So I won’t be putting up big numbers in the military press. If my deadlift rocks, I could totally bomb the military press and not care at all!

2a. Romanian deadlifts from a deficit and without straps this time!

145 pounds x 2 sets of 8

2b. 30 seconds of making small circles while doing a plank on a ball x 2 sets

My abs are still sore from the ab wheel on Monday, so these planks were especially fun.

Tomorrow marks 4 weeks until competition!

Leave a Reply

