Not Quite According to the Plan

Bench press day.

1. bench press-competition grip (aka my wider grip)

The plan for today was to work up to a single at 110 pounds and then do 3 sets of 8 @ 95 pounds.

45 x 8, 75 x 5, 85 x 5, 95 x 2, 105 x 1, 110 x 1

The 110 pound single wasn’t bad, but I wanted to do it again as I felt like I misgrooved it a bit. So…110 x 1.

Michael had a feeling, so he stepped on the scale and then grabbed the bar to check the weight. What was loaded as 110 pounds was actually about 115.8 pounds thanks to the bumper plates. Technically, that means I just pressed a new PR, since my previous record was 115.7 pounds! It also means that most of my other numbers this morning were slightly off, but I am not going to fuss about it. The 115 didn’t feel maximal.

With bumper plates on the bar and the discovery that they are slightly heavier than noted, Michael changed my 3 sets of 8 to 5 sets of 5. Although the bar was loaded for 95 pounds, it was probably about 100.

100 x 5, 100 x 5, 100 x 4

Michael cut that third set short. I misgrooved the fourth rep slightly, but I am confident that I could have made the fifth rep without too much difficulty. Although he did say that he thought I could have done it, I admit that I wasn’t very thrilled about being forced to drop a rep. I know the rep work, while important, isn’t the most important aspect of my program right now, but…then he cut out the last two sets and I felt deprived and frustrated. But I will comply. He is the boss.

Michael dropped the weight down to 75 pounds, or slightly more because of the bumpers…whatever, doesn’t matter, for 2 sets of 8. On the second set, he had me pause the bar about an inch off my chest rather than coming all the way down. He may have had to tell me to breathe on the sixth or seventh rep, because I kind of forgot about that in the effort to keep the tension in my body. I’m sure I could have done all 8 reps without breathing.

Between the first bunch of presses, Michael had me do rows on the TRX, 8-10 reps but at a level easy enough that I could do 20. I did 10 each time. At the very end, he had me do seated cable rows with 70 pounds. Internally, I cringed when he asked for high reps. Accessory work tends to be challenging, but I surprised myself by cranking out 20 reps without too much difficulty until the final couple of reps. Either I’m getting stronger or frustration fuels me in a miraculous way!

Between my rep sets, Michael had me do chin-ups using the small green band. He asked for 8-10, but he didn’t want me to grind out any reps.

x 8, x 6, x 5

Leave a Reply

