Deadlifts, Presses & a Cold

It’s been a long time since I’ve been sick, but something has finally caught up to me. All week I have been trying to fight off the beginnings of a cold, attacking it with every non-medicinal method I have at my disposal. Who has time to be sick? So, I took colloidal silver for the sore throat that was threatening the first couple of days. I’ve been taking shots of oil of oregano three times a day…that stuff is nasty! I’ve upped my vitamin C dose. I’ve been diffusing eucalyptus oil in my bedroom at night, and I’ve been rubbing a eucalyptus & almond oil blend onto my chest. Yesterday I put some Thieves oil into a bowl of hot water and inhaled the steam. And I’ve cleaned up my diet quite a bit this week. I’m still eating a lot of carbs, but I’ve eliminated most of the garbage carbs. My nose is partially stuffed up, and I need to blow my nose quite regularly. My throat is not really sore anymore, but it is scratchy and froggy with just a bit of a cough. Aside from those symptoms, I actually feel fine. At least I think I feel fine, although I’m sure that my body might disagree.

Today was a long day, an often frustrating day, and I was sweating by 6:00 this morning. By the time I got home from work, I was cranky. Crying seemed like a good option, but deadlifts was an even better one.

1a. deficit deadlifts

95 x 5, 135 x 5, 155 x 3…all beltless

with belt…185 x 3, 215 x 1, 230 x 1

with belt…215 for 2 sets of 3

Deadlifts felt really good today! They felt fast, and I think my positioning was good. There really wasn’t a single rep that felt difficult.

I do have to say that I had a moment of frustration with my belt today. The first couple of sets with my belt were fine. While I did have some difficulty getting to the usual notch before one set, I did get it there. However, at one point I no longer could! The rest of my session saw my belt done up on a notch it has never been on before. It was fine. It was still tight enough to provide the proper support, but, gosh darn it, my vanity took a hit there.

1b. military press…because, you know, I agreed to do this at the competition and I need the practice

45 x 5, 65 x 3, 65 x 3…beltless

with belt…70 x 1, 70 x 0…I have an issue with staying too upright, which is why I am not keen on the military press and why I need the practice! I missed a rep…not good.

65 x 1, 65 x 2, 65 x 2

These last few sets were better, I think. Leaning back enough and keeping my head from moving all over the place are important keys for me.

2a. Romanian deadlifts…out from the legs a bit to work the hamstrings more

3 sets of 8 @ 135

2b. leg raises using the dip bar

3 sets of 15

The hip has felt not too bad for the past few days, not perfect but definitely improving. While moving around the gym today, I stepped over a bench, leading with my right leg, and my right hip did not particularly like that. It was a momentary pinch as I raised my leg to go over the bench. There was/is some mild discomfort in the hip since I left the gym, which I think can be attributed to the leg raises. But it is improving.

Leave a Reply

