Deadlifts, Doughnuts & Dumbbells

It’s deadlift day. It’s apparently National Doughnut Day. While I definitely did deadlifts today, I did not eat a doughnut. Part of me is slightly disappointed about that missed opportunity, but the rest of me is kind of glad that I didn’t indulge. My attitude towards carbs is slipping again. I love them, and I hate them. I feel chubby. The only way I can consume enough carbs is to eat more processed crap, and I’m not exactly loving it. Don’t get me wrong…I love processed crap! However, I’d rather look at processed food as a rare treat than an everyday staple. My weight has been hovering at 153 pounds, which, I suppose, is right where I want it to be. For now.

1a. deficit deadlifts

warm-up: 95 x 8, 135 x 5, 165 x 5

with belt: 195 x 5, 205 x 5, 195 x 5, 175 x 5

This was my first time using my belt for deadlifts since my last competition on April 19. Let me just say that the belt felt almost too snug today, although I still managed to get it on the usual notch.

1b. bench press with my narrow competition grip

warm-up: 43 x 8, 68 x 5,

main event: 88 x 5, 93 x 5, 93 x 5, 93 x 5

It’s been a while since I’ve used a narrow grip, but these generally felt good and easy. The second set @ 93 pounds had a bit of a misgroove on the last rep which made it a bit harder than it should have been. Michael demanded that the last set be perfectly grooved, and I think I succeeded. That final set was certainly solid.

2a. Romanian deadlifts with straps

165 x 8, 135 x 12, 135 x 10

The first set felt incredibly heavy. Michael wanted me to really work on pulling my hips to the bar once the bar reached my knees, and I honestly struggled to do that for the first two sets. The last set was the best.

2b. flies

10 pound dumbbells x 12, x 15

15 pound dumbbells x 9

Michael called me on my breathing during the second and third sets. I might have rolled my eyes, but I did what he said. You’d think that breathing should come naturally, but I guess not!

2c. TRX rows x 15, x 15, x 25

2d. incline dumbbell curls

15 pounds x 9, x 8

Leave a Reply

