Girl on Fire

I slept in this morning, like honest-to-goodness slept in…until 8:30! Okay, so that isn’t exactly what my kids would call sleeping in, but when you are used to being half-finished your work day by 8:30 in the morning, it’s sleeping in! I didn’t expect to sleep that long, but I’m not complaining.

I had planned to go for a run first thing in the morning, but when I finally woke up I was stiff and sore and not exactly keen on punishing my body. After having breakfast and coffee and moving around, I began to reason with myself, thinking that an afternoon run could be arranged. As the morning wore on, I found my attitude slipping towards the precipice. I had a mental image of jumping off the cliff, simply because it would be easier (and possibly more enjoyable in a twisted kind of way) than trying to hang on and climb above it. That sealed the deal and I laced up my running shoes as quickly as I was able.

It’s sunny and hot, so I knew that the run would likely not be much fun, but I left the house knowing that I wanted to go a little bit further this time. The legs felt a bit stronger with only a few minutes of minor calf discomfort. Actually, I think my legs are in really good shape for running, despite the random calf soreness and with the exception of my stupid right hip. My legs seem to recover quickly and have good muscle memory. My lungs are still not at prime running condition, but I guess they are improving with every run. The burning lump of pain below my ribcage didn’t become full-blown until about halfway through today’s run, and that is an improvement. My lungs didn’t even protest taking the hilly way home. My legs thought it would be fun to sprint up the hill, and my legs handled that surprisingly well! My lungs survived the sprint, but I was sucking wind once we made it to the top and reached level ground again. Why do I do things like that to myself?

Alicia Keys’ song Girl on Fire has been running through my head a lot lately…guess it’s my current theme song! So, I put it on repeat and ran…

Oh, we got our feet on the ground
And we’re burning it down
Oh, got our head in the clouds
And we’re not coming down

This girl is on fire
This girl is on fire
She’s walking on fire
This girl is on fire

Leave a Reply

