Dreams & Deadlifts

Yesterday morning I was given a head’s up that work today might be a bit of a gong show. Perhaps that fact can explain, at least in part, the strange and disturbing dreams I had last night. Okay, so some of my dreams probably came from reading Divergent, but those dreams are shadowy themes more than images. I don’t really remember details there. The last dream though is quite vivid and detailed. If you’ve read the book or seen the movie Misery, then you will have a good sense of what this last dream entailed. I was stuck some place that I didn’t want to be, and I was paralyzed from the waist down. I generally don’t put much stock in dreams, but looking back I have to wonder if that dream stemmed out of my anticipation of a crappy work day. When I got to work this morning, I learned that the warning I had received yesterday really didn’t do justice to what faced me today. I definitely felt paralyzed and stuck in a place I didn’t want to be. A headache bloomed and lingered for my entire shift, but I’m tougher than I look, stronger than I sometimes feel, and flexible enough to think on my feet. While I didn’t want to be there today, I made it through the day with sanity intact. It may not have been the best day, but it wasn’t the worst either. Still, I was quite looking forward to deadlifts today!

1a. deficit deadlifts-all beltless

75 x 6, 115 x 7, 165 x 5, with straps from here on 195 x 5, 215 x 5, 195 x 5 plus one more just to make sure that I was creating tension in my lats

1b. cross-body dumbbell extensions

15 lbs x 7 each arm, x 8

The left shoulder felt a little strange doing these, so we switched it to…

decline triceps extensions

15 lbs x 8ish, x 8, x 8

2. pendlay rows

75 lbs x 9, x 10, x 11

3a. front squats

75 lbs x 5, 125 x 6, 125 x 6

These felt a little tough after the deadlifts, and I wasn’t wearing knee sleeves. I probably could have pushed through to 8 reps @ 125 lbs…at least for the first set, but I didn’t.

3b. triceps press downs

40 lbs x 10, x 7…drop down to 20 lbs for another 8 reps

Tomorrow is going to be another challenging work day. I know this already, and I am as prepared as I can possibly be. That may not be enough to make for a smooth and awesome day, but I think it will be a good day. Maybe I will go for a little run after work…if I can’t lift weights then running is a good second option for working out the stress.

Leave a Reply

