Forward Focus

While I slept better last night than I did the night before, it still wasn’t a very good sleep. While I had a cup of coffee prior to my morning training session, the expected punch of caffeine never really hit my nervous system. So, when I arrived at the gym and Michael asked me what I should do to warm up for an upper body session, I stared at him with a blank look on my face. He was hoping that he had taught me something over all of these months of training. I’m sure I could have remembered something eventually. Michael really has taught me a lot! If he had posed the question about warming up legs I would have been all over that one! Maybe the problem was that upper body work is not necessarily my most favourite thing…

1a. bench press-slightly wider grip

43 x 8, 63 x 8, 83 x 8, 90 x 7 I was ever so close to getting that eighth rep. Michael even told me that he wasn’t going to help me, which usually spurs me on because I’m stubborn that way and the last thing I want is to need help, but that wasn’t enough to get the bar all the way up for that final rep. 90 x 6, 90 x 5 I tried for that sixth rep but brought the bar down to the wrong place on my chest and got stuck. Thankfully Michael was willing to help me. ūüėČ

My bench wasn’t horrible today, but it didn’t feel quite as solid as Monday’s bench. I definitely had more issues with controlling bar position today.

Then we dropped the weight down for a set of as many reps as possible; however, Michael decided that he wasn’t going to spot me, so he wanted me to leave a rep or two in the tank.

70 x 11

1b. chin-ups

with small green band: x 9, x 8, x 6, x 5

My grip was wider on the first set. While it was easy enough because I was still fairly fresh, the wider grip felt harder and more awkward. I switched to a narrower grip for the rest, and that felt more natural.

with large green band: x 13

I am so not used to having that much assistance on chins! I almost felt as if I was going to be launched into space as I pulled myself up for that first rep.

2a. incline dumbbell presses

25 lbs x 12, x 9, x 9, x 9

2b. single arm rows

16 kg kettle bell x 12, x 12, x 11, x 10

These felt slightly tough today. I noticed that my planted shoulder would feel uncomfortable if I had my arm positioned the wrong way. Unfortunately, the wrong way felt like the natural way, so I was constantly forcing my stationary arm to adjust.

I was also able to spend a few minutes chatting with Michael about possible goals for the fall. I feel a little torn between two worlds. While I knew that he would ultimately say that the choice is mine to make, I value his experience and wisdom. Sometimes I think I can get hung up on a goal and want to run crazy with it, so it is a good idea to get some feedback from someone who understands the situation, understands me (at least I think Michael understands me…at least enough to give me appropriate feedback!), and knows what is involved or required to meet the task.

For the past several years, except for last year due to “injury”, I have raced in October. When I had to pull out of the marathon last year, I was disappointed but okay with letting go of that goal. I have no desire to ever attempt a marathon again. However, I had said that I would do the half-marathon this year and part of me still wants to do that. The other part of me would really rather compete in the Fall Classic powerlifting competition, which I believe is about a week¬†after the race¬†in October. I want to do both, but I know that isn’t the best or most realistic answer. Michael said I could potentially do both, but it would be a challenge and my squat may suffer. I don’t want to do both that badly!¬†Although my motivation for doing the Fall Classic isn’t to break the Provincial records, I am in a place where my strength is still growing and I have the potential to challenge those records. What it comes right down to is that I am having so much fun powerlifting. I love the challenge to push myself, to lift more, to do more reps, to be a little bit outside of the norm. If this isn’t what normal 43-year-old women do for¬† fun in their spare time, then I’m exactly where I want to be. The half-marathon would be fun, too, I think, but the real thrill would be in competing in an official race. I ran several half-marathons in training for the marathon last year, so I know that I can do it. I think it sounds like I’ve made my decision, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

