Oat & Pumpkin Smoothie

My husband thinks I’m crazy. Most days I might actually agree with him! But crazy isn’t always a bad thing, right?

So what makes me crazy today? Carbs. Or more specifically my pursuit of more carbs.

I rarely eat pasta anymore, but I made fettucine alfredo for dinner tonight using rice noodles. Fettucine alfredo is something that I always thinks sounds like a good idea until I start to eat. It doesn’t matter if I order it at a restaurant or make it at home from scratch or from a jar…the taste is just never as appealing as I expect it to be. But I ate a generous serving for dinner. I have a lot of carbs to consume!

After dinner I did a quick internet search for high carb smoothie recipes, because that may be the answer to my ‘how to consume all those carbs’ question. I found one that seemed simple enough, with ingredients I would typically have on hand, and could possibly be palatable. The fact that it contained 70 grams of carbs sealed the deal, and I had to make it. Now.

Of course, while I usually have canned pumpkin in the pantry, today I had none. Despite having no desire to run another errand, I found myself running to the store for some pumpkin. My husband called me crazy. As I walked the aisles of the grocery store, I couldn’t disagree with him.

Into my Blendtec blender I threw:

  • 1/2 an apple
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • pinches of cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg
  • a splash of vanilla
  • about a cup of unsweetened coconut milk

It’s pretty thick (could maybe use a bit more coconut milk), but it’s not bad. I mean, it’s not as good as a chocolate milkshake or a strawberry daiquiri, but it is good enough that I will make it again…at least as long as I must increase my carbs.

One thought on “Oat & Pumpkin Smoothie”

  1. Sounds good! You are definitely in the minority with your dietary goals…so many more of us need to CUT carbs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

