Good & Tough

As I sit here thinking about how to begin this blog post, I find my mind struggling to grasp the concept of time. I know that I had a training session yesterday morning, but somehow that feels at least a few days removed from today. Because of other commitments, tomorrow’s regular training session took place tonight. On a typical Thursday night at this time I would be either in bed or on my way there, because I need to wake up before 4:00 AM on Fridays. Obviously I am not in bed yet and it is currently 7:30. It isn’t easy to come home from the gym, eat dinner and scurry off to bed.

1a. front squats

45 x 6, 95 x 6, 115 x 6, 145 x 6, 145 x 6, 145 x 6

1b. dips with a blue band

x 9, x 8, x 8, x 7

2a. deficit deadlifts

115 x 6, 145 x 8, 175 x 8, 195 x 6

The front squats seemed to take a lot out of me, but the deadlifts weren’t too bad. Maybe a little tough on the last set but still decent. I think I did a better job at pushing with my legs today.

2b. a single arm lateral variation using an 8 lb. dumbbell

x 15, x 15, x 11, x 12

My left shoulder was clicking on every rep for the first two sets. Michael put his hand on my shoulder for the third set to help me keep my shoulder back and open. The clicking disappeared, but I wasn’t sure that I would be able to replicate that position without the help. Before the final set I did a band stretch for the lats. There was no clicking at all on the final set and that was without any help!

3a. block pulls using straps

135 x 8, 165 x 12

3b. seated cable rows

70 lbs x 10, x 10

3c. dumbbell curls

20 lbs x 7, x 8 plus 8 reps with 15 lbs

3d. ab wheel

x 10, x 8

And I was done like dinner! It was a good session, and I definitely felt like I did something. In fact, I was exhausted, wiped out, a sweaty mess, and shaking like a leaf, but it was good.

Leave a Reply

