Grumpy Girl

I had a wonderful weekend at the retreat, but I’ll save that for another blog post when I don’t have a training report and I’m in a better mood.

Today has been a struggle. I slept well last night, but it was both a deep and disorienting sleep. I woke at least once to get up and use the bathroom and was completely groggy. My eyes were half-open, but I felt as if I was stumbling blindly through heavy fog. When my alarm blared at 3:15 this morning, it was a shock to my system and I didn’t know what I was supposed to do about it for a handful of seconds. Weird. But I was relatively rested for a Monday morning.

The rest of the day was where the real battle lay. I wanted to have a good day. I wanted to maintain a good attitude. In some ways I was able to keep a smile on my face, but I was really just holding it all together with determination, grit and spit. And sarcasm. Always sarcasm, internal and verbal.

Then it was time for my training session, and I thought balance had been restored to my world.

1a. squats…beltless, a lower bar position

45 x 6, 95 x 6, 115 x 5, 135 x 8, 155 x 8, 165 x 8

With one exception, these felt so good! I wouldn’t say that every rep was absolutely perfect, but they moved well. I had good speed, good bar path, and they felt easy. The last set wasn’t bad, but it was a bit harder than the previous. But then again, it wasn’t so difficult. The bar felt as if it was going to slip off my left side for the last few reps, and that maybe made the set feel tougher than it actually was.

Naturally, because I’ve had shoulder issues in the past, Michael was continually asking how my shoulders were doing. He asked again after I finished that final set. I hesitated for a second or maybe one of Michael’s seconds. While my shoulders had been fine leading up to that final set, after that set was not the same. I was reluctant to answer honestly, but I did. My shoulder wasn’t hurting; it just felt heavy when I moved it. Oh how I wanted to stamp my foot in frustration!

Michael suggested that I was probably a little too upright on that last set which isn’t an ideal position for a lower bar squat. That would also explain why I felt like the bar was going to slip off my back.

1b. bench press…slightly wider grip

43 x 8, 63 x 6, 78 x 8, 88 x 8, 88 x 6, 78 x 6

The earlier sets definitely felt strong and easy, which I will take. The slightly wider grip is starting to feel more natural, and I’m getting the hang of the change to my bar path.

2a. stiff-legged deadlifts from a deficit (standing on a block)

95 x 8, 125 x 8, 145 x 8 using straps for this last set

2b. dumbbell incline press

25 lbs x 8, 25 x 9, 25 x 9

The first set was the toughest. That seems to be a common theme for me, at least with some exercises. My second set will often be better than the first. In fact, I think I might have been able to do to 10 reps in that second set. I did seem to have some difficulty keeping that left shoulder properly tucked. <grrr>

2c. hanging leg raises, aka toes to bar

x 9 (someday I will get 10), x 4…my hands were slipping and I had a heck of a time keeping my rhythm, the last set was knee raises with leg extension x 9

I left the gym feeling okay, but that didn’t last long. As I was driving, I noticed that my left shoulder felt heavy and kind of dead or fatigued. No doubt about it…I let a few choice words fly. I got home and ranted to my husband about my day, my shoulder, my frustration. If my shoulder is sore tomorrow, I am going to be so ticked off with myself. It was such a stupid mistake. I see my chiropractor next Monday, and I do NOT want to present him with a shoulder issue again. I do not want to be told no more lower bar squats.

Leave a Reply

