Squats, Presses & GHR

Thursday isn’t a normal training day for me, but I am headed out-of-town tomorrow morning for a ladies’ retreat. I am looking forward to the weekend. It is held at a camp in Eagle Bay along the Shuswap lake. The scenery is breathtakingly gorgeous and peaceful. The food will be amazing and prepared by someone else (always a bonus!) The lodge is quite comfortable, too. There are fewer women going this year compared to previous years, or at least last year for sure. I only know this because I sorted out the sleeping arrangements last year and agreed to do it again this year. Last year was a headache and a half to organize mainly because there were so many women. This year was a bit easier but not without last-minute additions and changes. I won’t fully relax until after registration tomorrow, when everyone has arrived and been placed in their rooms. There were some grumpy and unappreciative women during that process last year and, being a people-pleaser, I really don’t want to go through that again. I think I’ve done a pretty good job at sorting 50+ women from different cities into groups of 4. That is not an easy task when you don’t know who these women are, who their friends are, or what their limitations may be. When there are bunk beds and stairs to navigate, those limitations can present a serious problem. Thankfully, I’m a fairly organized person, and I kept my notes from last year. While not all the names are the same for this year, I was able to figure out at least a couple of ladies who would need agile room-mates. So, once everyone is settled and happy (hopefully), then I will finally be able to relax and enjoy the weekend.

Instead of training tomorrow, I trained today.

1. front squats

45 x 8, 95 x 6, 115 x 4

3 sets of 8 @ 135

2a. floor press

45 x 8, 75 x 6,

3 sets of 6 @ 85

2b. some kind of single arm pulldown with orange band

x10, x 15 each arm

3a. glute-ham raises

x 9, x 11, x 9

The setting on the GHD was set a little closer than usual which made these more difficult than usual. During my first set, Michael cracked a joke about 40 year olds being able to do at least 8 of these, about how he could do at least 8 of them. What else could I do but laugh out loud in the middle of my rep! As tough as these were, I really should have been able to do more than 9 that first set, but I will blame my shortfall on Michael’s reverse psychology making me laugh. Of course, he knows how to motivate me, because there is no way that I would want to do less than _______. I know that I can’t compete against Michael on so many levels, but if I can then I will! 😉

Just for fun…tried 2 natural glute-ham raises. Oh my!

3b. seated rows with rope handle

30 lbs x 20 for 3 sets

3c. red band triceps pull-downs

x 15, x 12, x 15

Leave a Reply

