Lowering the Bar

I had been determined that today would be a good day. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t exactly great either. I actually slept pretty good last night, but I just felt a little off this morning. I could have sworn that I heard someone creeping on the stairs when I woke up at 3:15. Since I didn’t have my glasses on or contacts in yet, I decided not to take a look. Instead, I went to the bathroom, got dressed, put in my contacts, and felt annoyance at the cat scratching at the bathroom door and meowing at me. I don’t really want to deal with a demanding cat at that time of the morning. The only thing she wanted was a treat anyway.

My normal routine after getting dressed for work is to eat my breakfast and surf the net, catching up on Facebook, emails and news. Today’s routine was no exception. I gagged down my oatmeal, or at least most of it. (It’s not that I don’t like oatmeal, because I do, but I’m not exactly loving the carbs right now. Maybe I’ll post more about that tomorrow!) At one point, I glanced at the clock at the bottom of my laptop screen and just about had a heart attack. It said that it was 5:04 AM. I was to start work at 5:00 AM! I slammed the laptop shut, maybe uttered a bad word under my breath, looked for my socks and shoes, and wondered how the heck I had managed to screw up my routine. Did I set the alarm for the wrong time? That’s always a concern, because my wake time changes 4 times a week, but I was sure that I had got up at the right time for a Monday. Did I waste too much time on my computer? After all of that I finally decided to look at my phone…and discovered that it was only 4:05! I had to turn the laptop back on to make sure that I hadn’t been seeing things, but I hadn’t imagined it. The computer said it was after 5. Weird! I know the time was correct last night before I went to bed.

On Mondays, I am the first person to start work for the day. I’m awake. I am functional. I can even be polite, friendly, smiley, and energetic, but that is not how I feel when I walk in the door. I don’t want to talk for no other reason than to hear myself. I don’t want to listen to someone who talks just to hear themselves. One of the graveyard staff continued to talk at me. He questioned whether I was mad at him, whether he had done something wrong (other than annoying me…no!), and seemed to think that I had given him a “look”. Okay, so sometimes I do give a “look” to co-workers, but they know when I give them a look. I did not give a look this morning. Don’t mistake my lack of chatter as anger. If you have realized that I am not a morning person, then why do you persist in this fantasy that I want to engage in your long, drawn out, rambling soliloquy. I don’t. I just want to mentally change gears from waking up to working mode, then I want to get to work and do what needs to be done. I don’t need to know random facts at 4:30 in the morning. I don’t need to listen to you ramble on about my reticence at 5:00 in the morning. There is no quicker way to make me angry than to harp on me about being angry at you when I am really not!

So that was the start of my day. It did get better, but my attitude lagged behind for a while. By the time I got to the gym this afternoon, I felt okay, not great but ready to break a sweat and find that happy place.

1a. squats

45 lbs x 5, 95 x 5, 115 x 3, 135 x 8, 145 x 8, 155 x 8

These were so much easier than last Monday’s high rep sets, but last week I was using the safety bar which instantly makes things just a little tougher. Another reason these may have been easier?

They were all lower bar! Not fully low bar but lower than my normal high bar position! I really hope my shoulders continue to cooperate with the low bar, because I really do like the difference I can feel in my squat with the lower bar position.

Or maybe it is the extra carbs I’ve been eating?

1b. floor press with a slightly wider grip

45 x 8, 75 x 8, 85 x 8, 85 x 8, 90 x 8

75 x 10 with  a grip even slightly wider

2a. narrow grip bench press without a lockout, keeping tension on my triceps

65 lbs x 8, x 7? , x 7?

2b. lying dumbbell extensions

10 lbs x 8, x 6, x 6?  plus 10 neutral presses

2c. chin-ups with green band, neutral grip

x 8, x 6, x 4

then an 8 second eccentric without band

2d. ab wheel

x 10, x 10, x 5

And just like that my attitude has been restored to all things good and positive.

Leave a Reply

