The Last Hurrah

I had my final training session this morning. It was super easy, super light, but that is exactly how it should be at this point in time prior to competition. I didn’t even break a sweat, but it was good to just go through the motions to help me remember some of the little cues that can help me be successful on the platform.

1. bench press

45 x 8, 65 x 6, 80 x 3, 80 x 3

The important cue here is to squeeze the bar as tightly as I can, because I tend to lose a bit of tension while the bar is paused on my chest.

2. squat

45 x 5, 65 x 5, 95 x 3, 95 x 3

These were so easy and light. If I didn’t understand and appreciate the importance of the de-load, then I would have been incredibly frustrated to be limited to such weights. Okay, so I’m still mildly frustrated about it, but I know, I know it is the best course of action right now.

My right hip feels slightly bunched up or a little tight at the bottom of the squat. It felt the same way on Monday, but I don’t think I really did anything to hurt it. I don’t think it will present much of a problem though.

3. deadlifts

95 x 5, 95 x 5 to adjust my set-up position, 115 x 5, 115 x 6

The important cue here is to make sure that my shoulders are in front of the bar. They were too far back on the first set. These were easy weights, even for someone who has been struggling with her deadlift. In fact, they were so easy that I was rather reluctant to quit, but I knew that I had to stop.

Now I just get to worry about eating and resting well…and making sure I don’t forget to pack anything important!

2 thoughts on “The Last Hurrah”

    1. Thank you! The comp is on Sunday. If I’m not completely exhausted by the time I get back home Sunday night, I will post an update. Otherwise it might have to wait until Monday morning. 😉

Leave a Reply

