Deadlifts Again

It was deadlift day, and that’s no April Fool’s joke. I thought I stepped into the gym with a reasonably determined and  confident attitude about them, but Michael might have seen things a bit differently. I swear he has x-ray vision and can see right into my head to know what I’m thinking before I can even recognize the thought. I know he is already thinking of multiple ways to attack my deadlift once we get this first competition out of the way. I should probably be afraid, but I’m kind of looking forward to it!

1. deadlifts

95 x 5, 135 x 5, 165 x 3, 185 x 3 (this is where things got serious and the chalk came out), 205 x 1 This one wasn’t super great, so I had to do another one with my belt.    205 x 1

225 x 1 with belt, 235 x 1 wasn’t the greatest, so…235 x 1

Then we dropped the weight for a couple of sets of sumo:

185 x 2, 205 x 2 all beltless

Jumped back up to 225 x 1 with the belt and conventional.

Stayed at 225 for 2 sets of 3.

In general, I felt like deadlifts weren’t too bad today. I didn’t fail to get the bar up on any reps this time, so that’s a bonus! It would seem that tension is a bit of an issue. Michael tried to get me to work on abdominal tension and pushing with my legs. For the most part, I think I was more successful at pushing with my legs, mostly, except for the odd rep. Michael would be a better judge of that than I am, although I can usually tell when I round my back. The last thing Michael had me do today was feel the necessary tension in my obliques using some band with the bar. After practicing that for a few reps, Michael told me not to over think it right now. Ha ha! He also threw a number out for what I might attempt at the competition and asked if I would be happy with it. Heck yeah! It’s not a huge increase over my personal best, but I would gladly take it with how my deadlift has been of late.

2a. chest-supported rows using 16 kg kettle bells

x 8, x 5, x 4

These were much more difficult than usual!

b. TRX rows

x 12, x 8

The first set was pretty good; the second set was a struggle. Only 2 sets because I did those oblique-testing deadlifts instead.

Only 3 training sessions left before the de-load week begins! Since Friday is a holiday, I will be training again tomorrow morning.

Leave a Reply

