210 PR

1a. squats

warm-up: 95 x 5, 115 x 3, 135 x 3, 155 x 2, 175 x 2…all beltless, 195 x 1 with belt,

210 x 1 with belt…new PR!

main event: 185 x 5, 185 x 5 the fifth rep was really quite ugly but I got it, Michael said we’d play the third set by ear…if the first rep was good I could keep going, if not then we’d shut it down. Although I trust his discernment and experience and would cut it short if he thought it best, giving me an ultimatum like that just fires up the fighter in me. The first rep of the third set was better and I was able to push through to complete two final sets of 5 @ 185. All with my belt.

The warm-ups felt really good. The working sets were more of a struggle, but I got the work in.

1b. bench press

warm-up: 45 x 8, 65 x 5, 80 x 3, 95 x 3 which I thought felt oddly heavy and I realized after the fact that I had thought it was 80 pounds!

main event: 100 x 5 with a misgrooved rep that made the entire set feel heavy, 95 x 5, 95 x 5, 100 x 4…couldn’t get the fifth, rested long enough to take 2 deep breaths and got that final rep

2. Michael threw something new at me today to work my abs, although I think it killed my quads. It was basically a solitary, painfully long pause squat with 75 pounds. At the bottom of the squat I had to take 10 very deep breaths in and out; Michael had to be able to hear me breathe. In all honesty, I was paying more attention to breathing than counting, so I might have taken more than 10 breaths. Then I was supposed to get back to an upright position, but that wasn’t going to happen! My quads were burning lumps of pain by the time I was finished breathing, and I couldn’t get up at all. Several hours later and my legs are still sore! Tomorrow might be fun.

3a. TRX rows x 20, x 15

b. glute-ham raises x roughly 12…once again my calves kept cramping. We realized that this might be due to wearing knee sleeves and oly shoes, so I took off my shoes and sleeves for the second set and did 20 reps without any cramping whatsoever! I’m glad that issue was an easy fix, because I quite like my glute-ham raises.

c. hanging leg raises x 8

Leave a Reply

