Accessorizing

I feel a little bereft this afternoon, because I had today’s training session yesterday. My trainer has a much more important commitment today, and I completely understand it. Family has got to come first! Still, Friday feels a little weird knowing that I won’t be going to the gym. I am a little sad that I have a 3-day break for the weekend instead of the usual two. It doesn’t matter that I trained Wednesday and Thursday…I like being at the gym. What am I going to do with myself during my de-load week? Michael has already said that he won’t even allow me to come to the gym on the Friday of my de-load week, and that makes me feel antsy already and that’s still 5 weeks away!

This is what happened yesterday…

1a. squats

95 x 5, 115 x 5, 135 x 3, 155 x 2, 175 x 1 all beltless, then 195 x 1 with belt

Despite super sore hamstrings, squats felt great yesterday! I think they were all fairly fast and easy, and I’m fairly certain that the bar path was good, too. In all honesty, the squats felt so easy that it didn’t even feel like I had squatted! It won’t always feel that way, I know, so I’ll enjoy it for the moment with the understanding that the easy times are good for nailing speed and form.

pause squats

2 sets of 3 @ 140…so, so easy!

1b. bench press

45 x 8, 65 x 5, 75 x 3, 85 x 3, 95 x 1, 100 x 1, 105 x 1

76 x 12

Just for the heck of it, Michael had me do all my bench presses without any legs. I’m not sure why exactly but the bench press felt super good yesterday! Every single rep, except for the last two of the set of 12, felt strong and properly grooved. The eleventh rep of the 12 was definitely misgrooved. The twelfth rep was better, but I had to grind to lock it out.

And then there was the accessory work…

3a. seated rows using my bench grip and pulling to the same position on my chest that I do for bench (which was a little easier said than done!)

70 pounds x 10, x 10

b. rear laterals (my not so favourite)-standing (which made my hamstrings feel really good!)

10 pound dumbbells x 15, x 10

c. side laterals

10 pound dumbbells x 10, switched to a single arm side lateral x 6, switched to a band to open up the shoulder…my shoulder didn’t really like the side laterals very much

d. push-ups

x 7, and I completely forgot the push-ups on my second round and didn’t realize it until I was in bed last night! oops!

e. hanging leg raises (or toes to bar)

x 7 or 8, x 5

Michael mocks me just a little, because I tend to find the accessory work tougher than the heavy, big lifts. I can press 76 pounds for 12 reps but struggle to row 70 pounds for 10. The 10 pound dumbbells may as well be 30 pounds each when I am doing laterals; they just feel hard. I might have made a bit of a face at one point when Michael told me to lift higher on my side laterals, and he totally caught it. I can’t get much past him, but I think that’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

