Sing-a-long

I have no musical talents, but I definitely enjoy good music. Country and rap are not high on my favourites list, but that doesn’t mean I don’t like the odd song here and there. While I have my favourite artists, I am generally drawn more to a particular song because of the music and/or the lyrics. If it moves me, inspires or motivates me, then I will love it!

Music is an absolute must when I go for a run. I need the music to keep me going as much as I need oxygen and working legs. I have run 7 kilometres listening to one song over and over again. Why? Because that was the motivation I need to get through that particular run. That makes it sound like running is torturous. Sometimes it is and sometimes it’s not, but I find the right music can keep my legs moving, my attitude positive, and my energy up. I thrive on that kind of motivation.

Ironically, when my trainer asks what kind of music I might want to listen to at the gym, I’m really not fussy, so long as it isn’t rap or country or opera. While running I hear the music, but in the gym it is almost completely in the background and I seldom notice it. Occasionally one of my favourite songs will come on and my ears will perk up a little, but the tune soon goes in one ear and right out the other. I’m just too focused on what I’m doing, I guess.

But here is a list of my absolute favourite “move me, inspire me, motivate me, pump me up” songs:

  • Titanium by David Guetta & Sia
  • Girl on Fire by Alicia Keys
  • Circus by Britney Spears
  • The Climb by Miley Cyrus
  • Dog Days are Over by Florence & the Machines
  • Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey
  • Eye of the Tiger by Survivor
  • The Final Countdown by Europe
  • Flashdance…What a Feeling by Irene Cara
  • Girls Just Wanna Have Fun by Cyndi Lauper
  • Here Comes the Rain Again by the Eurythmics
  • Here I Go Again by Whitesnake
  • Holding Out for a Hero by Bonnie Tyler
  • The Impossible Dream by the Temptations
  • Invincible by Hedley
  • Janie’s Got a Gun by Aerosmith
  • Livin’ on a Prayer by Bon Jovi
  • Man in the Mirror by Michael Jackson
  • Never Surrender by Corey Hart
  • Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now by Starship
  • Only Girl by Rihanna
  • Stayin’ Alive by the Bee Gees
  • Thunderstruck by AC/DC
  • Take on Me by a-ha
  • Try by Pink
  • We’re Not Gonna Take It by Twisted Sister
  • Welcome to the Jungle by Guns N’ Roses
  • Wrecking Ball by Miley Cyrus
  • We are Young by Fun
  • Settle Down by No Doubt
  • Radioactive by Imagine Dragons
  • Not Ready to Make Nice by the Dixie Chicks
  • Stronger by Kelly Clarkson
  • Firework by Katy Perry
  • Roar by Katy Perry

 

Leave a Reply

