Doughnuts & Deadlifts

doughnuts

I haven’t worn this tank top for a long time, but I figured I would pull it out of the drawer and wear it today. Deadlifts were on the agenda this morning, and I was a little bit worried that they would be dreadful. While deadlifts used to be my favourite, they fell from favour months ago and it has been a struggle to find joy in them again. The struggle is probably more mental than physical, although there have been plenty of days when the deadlift just feels incredibly heavy and difficult. I’ll take motivational help wherever and however I can find it, so I wore the deadlift tank and my Rebel socks (because a little Star Wars reference will always make my day).

1. deadlifts

warm-ups:

115 x 5 using bumper plates for that set, switched to metal plates for everything else, 135 x 5, 165 x 3, 185 x 3, 205 x 1…all beltless, all conventional, and all felt pretty darn good

main event: with belt

215 x 1, 225 x 1, 235 x 1 (which I just gotta say was almost what I lifted for my third attempt in competition last July…and this felt so much easier!)

Michael introduced a new set up for me which will allow me to use a bit of momentum and energy. I practiced it a few times with a lesser weight and implemented it a bit with the 3 x 3 sets mentioned below. He also had me narrow my stance just a bit.

Dropped down to 185 for 3 sets of 3 with belt.

2a. chin-ups using blue band and making sure I keep my shoulders tucked into my back pocket

x 3 without a full extension, x 4 with full extension (plus 1 eccentric rep without the band over 8 seconds), x 3

Yup! These totally sucked today.

b. some kind of seated pull-down thing, again keeping those shoulders in the pocket, that also basically sucked

80 pounds x 10, x 6, x 6

c. overhead press

45 pounds x 6, 55 x 6, 55 x 6

Generally, although it has been a while since I’ve done them, I don’t like the overhead press. The first set wasn’t too bad. Michael had to remind me to add weight for the second set. <sigh> That second set was a little more challenging and the last rep was a bit of a grinder. Michael reminded me to keep my elbows in, and the third set was much easier. I guess I can say that the overhead press didn’t suck!

Maybe the accessory work was a struggle today because I am more sore than usual. I really don’t get sore very often, and when I do it typically isn’t very bothersome. For some reason Monday’s training session actually had me feeling stiff and sore yesterday and definitely today. Abs, shoulders, pecs, quads, glutes…with the abs feeling the most pain and the glutes feeling the least. Although now that I have typed that out my glutes are starting to protest their position at the bottom of the list!

Despite the soreness, I left the gym happy with how deadlift day went. As I was driving to my next appointment I realized that I was actually eager to deadlift again! Like almost disappointed that I have to wait an entire week to deadlift again! Maybe I should wear my deadlift shirt every Wednesday…

And for the record, I didn’t eat any doughnuts today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

