6 Weeks

I am tired. I have a headache and a bit of dizziness. It is way past the bedtime I need to have with an early work day looming on the horizon, but my night owl is stirring and I’ve got a few things to do before I crawl into bed.

Today I began my new training program leading up to competition. Mondays will be volume days for squats and bench. Wednesdays will be bench and deadlifts. Fridays shall be the heavy weights for squats and bench. I’m looking forward to it…well maybe not as excited about the deadlifts, but I will scrape together every ounce of determination and excitement that I can muster. Michael keeps telling me I was built for deadlifting. He wouldn’t lie to me, would he?

1a. 5 x 5 squats

warm-up: 95 x 5, 125 x 5, 145 x 3, 165 x 3

main event: 180 x 5, 185 x 5, 185 x 5, 185 x 5, 185 x 5 all with belt

1b. 5 x5 bench press

warm-up: 45 x 6, 65 x 5, 75 x 5, 85 x 5

main event: 95 x 5, 95 x 5, 100 x 5, 100 x 5, 100 x 4…took a 10 second rest and got that last rep

dropped down to 85 for 8 or 9 reps with a wider grip

2a. chest-supported rows

35 pound dumbbells with fat grips x 15, x 15, x 12 (the first two sets had a 5 second pause on the last rep)

2b. ab wheel x 12, x 12, x 10

 

One thought on “6 Weeks”

Leave a Reply

