The Bad, Good and Ugly

My day did not start out very well. Wednesday and Thursday were reasonably good days, at least in terms of the dizziness in my head, but this week has been a struggle. Monday and Tuesday were not good days, and today was very much the same. I didn’t sleep very well. I have had a fairly constant headache all week. The dizziness hit me from all directions this morning, leaving me feeling shaky, mentally flustered, and physically unwell. What a horrible way to feel! Thankfully I was able to get someone to cover the last 3 hours of my shift, so I could go home.

I am also thankful that I was able to get in to see my chiropractor this morning. He tested out my blood pressure. In a sitting position my blood pressure was perfectly fine, but when I laid down my blood pressure dropped significantly. I suppose that is good to know, but I still need to see my doctor on Monday and pray that he takes me seriously. My chiropractor also adjusted my neck, which seemed to help the headache for a while. It had nearly disappeared by mid-afternoon, but it is slowly creeping back. The adjustment may have also helped a bit with the dizziness, although the biggest test might be getting through my work day tomorrow.

Thankfully, because I can at least see the silver linings, a quiet and sedate afternoon combined with the adjustment seemed to settle things down enough that I could get through my training session without too much difficulty. And maybe the “fighter” socks helped!

1a. squats

45 x 8, 95 x 5, 115 x 3, 135 x 3, 155 x 3, 175 x 1, 195 x 1, 200 x 1, 200 x 2!

Somewhere along the line I put on my belt. I guess my mental faculties weren’t as normal as I had thought, because I usually write down when I use my belt but I guess I forgot this time. It could have been 175, or it might have been the 195. The 200 pounds felt lighter than the last time I squatted that weight, and today was the first time I did that weight for more than 1 rep. The second rep was a little slow, but I got it!

1b. bench press

45 x 8, 65 x 5, 75 x 3, 85 x 3, 95 x 1, 105 x 1, 105 x 1, 105 x 3!

My bench felt good today, and I made sure to take a little extra time getting up from the bench to help keep the dizziness at bay. I am pleased as punch with my new PR for reps at 105 pounds. Michael and I both think that I could have ground out at least one more rep, maybe two.

2a. deadlifts-sumo

135 x 6, 165 x 3, 195 x 3, 225 x 3, 225 x 3 with belt for the final set

This was a bit of an improvement over last week where I did 225 x 3 and 225 x 2. I might have been able to get a fourth rep on the first set of 225 today, but I was feeling a bit fatigued (and maybe just the slightest bit nervous about the possibility of getting dizzy by the end of the set). The second set at 225 felt much heavier than the first, and I got that third rep by sheer determination and with straight legs; however, the earlier sets all felt pretty good. I just need to nail down the technique consistently.

2b. reverse banded bench press with blue bands

95 x 2, 115 x 3, 135 x 5, 150 x 2

135 x 5 with a grip 1″ wider than my normal narrow grip

I don’t know how much the bands played with the actual weight, so those numbers are simply the actual weight used. With the 135 pounds, Michael kept telling me to do another rep, because it looked and felt rather easy. The jump to 150 was definitely more challenging which is what he wanted me to feel. Moving my grip out an inch also made the task just a bit more difficult.

3. barbell rows…I want to say these were Yates rows

75 pounds x 10, x 10  with an overhand grip, x 5 with an underhand grip

And it looks like next week will see a change to my training routine. I can live with that, because it is all for a purpose and that purpose is drawing closer every day!

Leave a Reply

