A Good Day

I almost can’t believe it, but I had another solid sleep last night which makes three nights in a row! I’m not so sure that tonight will be equally as good, but I’m willing to be proven wrong. It’s amazing how much being well-rested can improve one’s ability to handle stress. My work day was a bit of a gong show with a busy day and a couple of employees calling in sick, but I think I sailed through the day without feeling any significant feelings of stress, annoyance, or even <gasp> sarcasm! Maybe being well-rested also helped my attitude towards deadlifts, because I didn’t dread them today. In fact, today was a really good day at the gym.

1A. squats

warm-up:

95 x 3, 115 x 3, 135 x 3, 155 x 2 all beltless

main event: singles was the theme for the day

175, 195, 195 all still beltless

grabbed the belt for a new PR of 205!

drop back down to 195 with the belt for another single

Squats felt very good today. Warm-ups were fast and easy. Some of the singles were a little slower, but they still felt good and strong. The PR single certainly didn’t feel maximal, which means I am getting closer to my goals! These were all high bar, because I am not allowed to do low bar yet. However, I think the bar path was pretty darn good today, maybe not perfect all the time but getting better all the time.

1B. bench press

warm-up:

45 x 8, 65 x 3, 80 x 3, 95 x 2 this one could have been a single…if I had grooved it perfectly, but I didn’t so I had to do a second rep. Prior to this set, Michael had me practice holding the bar completely vertical once I unracked it, because I tend to hold it slightly off centre which will make things more difficult in the long run. 100 x 1

main event:

4 singles at 105 pounds!

Michael will often call out the commands for me, which I do find beneficial. It’s good to practice what will be expected in competition, so that I won’t be caught off guard when it matters most. For the same reason, Michael will also often pause longer before giving me a command. I will never complain about that! I’d much rather have a coach who demands perfect form and technique than one who applauds a half-assed job. If I don’t squat deep enough, tell me to go deeper. If I don’t pause on my bench, then call me on it! Thankfully, I have a great coach!

2. deadlifts

It’s no secret that I haven’t been fond of the deadlift of late, but I was actually looking forward to them today. All sumo today…

135 x 5, 175 x 3, 205 x 3, 225 x 3 (new sumo PR) all beltless

grab the belt for another set @ 225 but could only get 2 reps, kept the belt and dropped down to 205 for 3

Then Michael had me do some sets with a pause roughly an inch or so off the floor.

2 sets of 3 @ 185 pounds, 1 set of 5 @ 185

Deadlifts felt decent today. Technique is really important, and I seem to struggle to get the knowledge out of my head and into practice. I tend to try to pull more than pushing with my legs, but I think the pause sets helped.

All in all, it was a good session, and it is exciting to see the progress each week. My next competition will be 7 weeks away as of Sunday, which translates into 6 weeks of training and a de-load week. We talked a little bit about the plan and some numbers today. Really, that is Michael’s area of expertise…I’ll just do what he tells me to do!

 

Leave a Reply

